DATA Statistical Databases @ UCB
Top Statistical Databases
More Social Science Statistical Databases (A-Z)
- China Data Online. Data re China.
- China Statistical Yearbook Database. China data.
- CQ Voting and Elections Collection. Election data.
- Destatis. German statistics.
- E-Stat. Canadian statistics.
- Economist Intelligence Unit Country Reports and Profiles. Muliple country profiles.
- Europa World. Data on 250+ countries.
- Field Poll. Public opinion data.
- Gallup Brain. Public opinion data.
- Historical Statistics of the U.S. Population, welfare, economics.
- IndiaStat. Data re India.
- ICPSR. Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research.
- OECD Health Data and Statistics. Socio-economic and mental health data.
- OECD iLibrary. Socio-economic data.
- RAND California. Demographic, health and more statistics re California.
- Roper Center for Public Opinion Research. U.S. and international survey data.
- Russia NIS Statistical Publications. Russian data.
- Sociometrics Social Science Electronic Data Library. Data re health, family, children, aging and more.
DATA Data Help
Help with Manipulating Statistics and Data
- Do you need help locating statistics? Contact your reference librarian for help!
- Computing at Haviland: A Computing Lab is available to all Social Welfare students. Claudia Waters is the Social Welfare Computing Manager and is available to help with computing projects.
- Library Data Lab. The Data Lab in Doe 208A provides access to a growing collection of electronic data files and analytical software, such as MS Excel, SAS, SPSS, Stata, and DataFerret. Staff will help you locate, retrieve and use computer-readable, numeric data.
- UC Data. UC Data provides access to computerized social science data to UC Berkeley faculty, staff and students, and helps researchers understand the content and context of social science data.
Social Welfare Data
The UC Berkeley Libraries and the UC Berkeley campus provide generous resources to support access to and manipulation of data and statistics. UC Library subscribes to several proprietary statistics databases with advanced search features. The U.S. government, the largest collector and provider of data worldwide, provides many tools for searching and finding data. State and local governments have similarly created many data websites. Large international organizations, such as UNESCO, the World Bank, and EuroStats have also gathered statistics and created online search tools. Extensive data sets can be found on the web through the sites of nonprofit organizations and universities. The search is challenging, however, because of multiple sites each with a different focus, search engine and protocol.
The following websites provide data and statistics specifically related to social welfare, psychology and the social sciences. Some provide data of a more general data, such as American FactFinder, and FedStats, and some point to topic specific data sets, such as AgeSource and ChildStats. Each is uniquely organized. Look for a "search tips" link on each site for the best practice in finding data with the website's search features.
Additional weblinks for free data concerning children and education can be found at EDP Statistics and regarding public health at PUBL Stats. For data sets by region, i.e., California, federal, etc. see below.
Social Welfare Data - Key Weblinks
- Administration on Aging.
- Administration for Children and Families.
- Adoption in the U.S.: State Statistics.
- Adoption statistics (Child Welfare Information Gateway).
- AgeSoure/AgeStats Worldwide. Data from AARP concerning older adults worldwide.
- CDC Health Data.
- CDSS Research and Data Reports.
- Child Abuse and Neglect.
- Child Trends Databank.
- Child Welfare Dynamic Report System. From California Dept. of Social Services and UCB.
- Child Welfare Information Gateway.
- ChildStats. Children and families. Forum on Child and Family Statistics.
- Children and Education. More websites.
- Food Stamp Program.
- Foster Care National Statistics.
- Green Book. House Ways and Means Committee. 2004. 2008.
- National Archive of Computerized Data on Aging.
- National Center for Health Statistics.
- Office of Minority Health Data & Statistics.
- Social Security Administration Statistics.
- TheDataWeb. U.S. Census' data analysis tool.
Data for Psychology, Mental Health and Social Science - Key Weblinks
Statistics - By Region and General Topics
The following links point to data sources for multiple topics and by region.