Social Welfare & Related Tests
PsycTESTS from APA -- primarily unpublished tests, most (but not all) records include the actual test instrument. Also provides information about psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments including descriptive information about the test and its development and administration
eBooks and books with full-text scales:
Online searchable sites with full-text scales:
Online searchable indexes to identify scales:
Sites with test information:
Tests & Scales
Tests, Scales and Measurements
Finding complete instruments (tests or scales) can be challenging. Test publishers do not allow libraries to buy buy copyrighted tests and circulate them like we do books. In general, they want to sell them to researchers on an individual basis. Sometimes the full text of a test can be found in a journal or in the appendix of a dissertation. And, of course, some instruments or tests are in the public domain and are easy to locate in books or on the internet.
The library reference collection contains several print and a few digital book compilations of full-text tests available in the public domain. See Test Bibliographies for more information.
For educational tests, see EDP Tests.
Tests can be identified, and sometimes found in full text, by using databases, such as Social Services Abstracts, Sociological Abstracts, Social Work Abstracts, and PsycInfo. Online indexes, like Buros Mental Measurements, aid in identifying test instruments. Several social service organizations provide free online search engines that link to full-text scales. A few universities have built their own free, searchable indexes to identify tests they consider important to the work of their scholars. Many other organizations provide information about tests that their members may find useful. This guide's Social Welfare & Related Tests link connects to various resources.
Learn strategies for searching and finding tests through the disciplinary databases by clicking the Search Tips tab above. Search engines provided by various vendors differ. For example, the CSA Illumina search engine provides an easy way to identify tests referenced or used in studies, while EbscoHost requires another protocol to produce less targeted results.