Media Studies

Media Studies Article Databases

  • FIAF: International Index to Film Periodicals
    Indexes scholarly and popular journals, books, book reviews, and proceedings worldwide on a wide range of topics within the fields of film and television studies. Includes complete data from all volumes of the International Index to Film Periodicals (1972 to the present), the TV-related companion (1979 to the present), the annual volumes of the International Index to Film. Platform change: this database is now available via the Chadwyck-Healey interface. The old Ovid interface will remain searchable through June 2010.
  • Alt-Press Watch
    Alternative, radical, and independent magazines, newspapers, and journals in North America which report on politics and government, policy and culture, international issues, education, environment as well as reviews of theater, movies and books.
  • America: History and Life
    Indexes over 2,000 journals published worldwide on the history of the US and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes all key English-language historical journals; selected historical journals from major countries, state, and local history journals; and a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences and humanities.
  • Communication Abstracts
    Indexes 160 sources, with over 44,000 records reflecting articles, reports, papers and books covering communication literature in subjects such as mass media, journalism, advertising, marketing, public opinion, interpersonal communication and organizational communication.
  • Ethnic News Watch
    Indexes over 200 ethnic, minority, and native press publications. Contains news, culture, and history searchable in both English and Spanish. Also includes a retrospective backfile of titles (1960-1989).
  • International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)
    Indexes over 3000 journals, books, chapters, and book reviews in the fields of economics, political science, sociology, and anthropology from more than 100 countries. More than 70 languages are represented, with 30% percent of records published in languages other than English. (Search all CSA/Illumina Social Sciences databases.)
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Includes over 6,000 individual titles of international, national and local newspapers and wire services; radio and television transcripts; and business, medical, industry, and legislative magazines, journals, and newsletters. Wide geographic coverage and translations from foreign-language sources, as well as news services like the Associated Press, Agence France Press, El Pais and Xinhua (New China) News Agency.
  • PAIS International
    Indexes books, journals, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, and web sources related to public policy, politics, economics, and social issues worldwide. Includes publications from over 120 countries. Some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish. The Archive covers English-language material only. (Search all CSA/Illumina Social Sciences databases.)
  • Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Knowledge)
    Indexes over 1,700 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals, and provides searching of footnoted citations. Use the link above, then under Current Limits, specify Social Sciences Citation Index. For more guidance on using this database see the following tutorials: Creating Alerts and Creating an RSS Feed.
  • Sociological Abstracts
    Indexes over 1,900 journals, books, dissertations, and reviews in the social sciences on sociological topics as well as selected anthropology, criminology, demography, law, social psychology, and urban development.(Search all CSA/Illumina Social Sciences databases.)

Image and Sound Databases

  • Ad*Access Project
    Images and information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Ad*Access concentrates on five main subject areas: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II, providing a view of a number of major campaigns and companies through images preserved in one particular advertising collection available at Duke University.
  • Aerial Photographs of Northern California
    A collection of scanned air photos from the collection of the Earth Sciences & Map Library.
  • American Song
    Includes approximately 50,000 digital music tracks documenting genres such as jazz, blues, gospel, ragtime, folk songs, and other forms of African American musical expression. Part of Alexander Street Press's Music Online.
  • American Memory Motion Pictures Collections (Library of Congress)
    A gateway to primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States. The site offers more than 7 million digital items from more than 100 historical collections. Includes a sampling of early American films, including works by the Edison Company, recordings of vaudeville and other popular entertainments, early animated films; recordings of early 20th Century presidents, and scenes of American work and leisure, 1894-1915.
  • American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library
    Consists of more than 7 million digital items from more than 100 historical Library of Congress collections. The primary source and archival materials relating in the project cover topics from art and architecture to performing arts to technology and applied sciences.
  • American Museum of Photography
    Iincludes over 5,000 images from daguerreotype portraits to Ansel Adams.
  • American TV Ad History & Showcase
    Site devoted to "classic" advertisements 1940-1970. Includes an archive television advertisements available for viewing online or downloading.
  • AP Images
    Includes Associated Press's current-year photo report and a selection from a 50-million image print and negative library dating from 1844-present. Currently contains about 700,000 photos, most of which are contemporary images made since late 1995.
  • Archives of American Art
    Collection of primary source documentation on American visual arts.
  • Art Theorists of the Italian Renaissance
    A collection of treatises on art and architecture printed and published between 1470 and 1775. Structured around the two Italian editions of Giorgio Vasari's Lives of the Artists. First or early editions have been preferred and translations are from the publication period. There are two exceptions to this policy for English translations. A 1912-1914 translation of Vasari's Lives and a 1907 translation of the introductory section On Technique are included because no reliable contemporary translations exist. The entire text of each work is included and the complete database contains approximately 4,000 images.
  • ARTstor
    A repository of more than 1 million digital images and associated catalog data. The collection is designed to be used by students and faculty for teaching and research in art history, as well as many other disciplines. Includes several collections such as: The Mellon International Dunhuang Archive; Native American Art and Culture from the Smithsonian; the Hartill Archive of Architecture and Allied Arts, etc. Short instructional videos are available online. See: Intro to the new ARTstor, Downloading images to PowerPoint, Batch download tool, and Making an image group.
  • Asahi Kikuzo II
    Contains over 5.8 million articles in full text from the following Japanese sources: 1) Asahi shinbun newspaper (1945-present); 2) AERA weekly magazine (May 1988-present); 3) Shukan Asahi weekly magazine (news section only. Also includes the Historical Photo Archive, which offers approximately 10,000 historical photographs of the period between the 1930s and 1945 which is accessible within Kikuzo II Visual. The Archive contains photographs taken in Asia (Manchuria, Vietnam, Pacific Ocean Islands, etc.) and Europe (Germany, England, etc.) from the 1930s and throughout the Second World War period.
  • BBC Motion Gallery
    Over 10,000 movie clips from the archives of the British Broadcasting Corporation and CBS News.
  • Biblioteca Virtual Miquel de Cervantes
    Digital library that provides free electronic access to one of the world's largest collections of digitized books, periodicals, documents, manuscripts, dissertations, images and audio-visual resources.
  • British Museum collection database
    Feature around 5,000 objects that reflect the range of the British Museum's collections.
  • British Pathe
    A digital news archive that allows users to preview items from the entire 3500 hour British Pathe Film Archive which covers news, sport, social history and entertainment from 1896 to 1970.
  • California Cultures
    Documents California's history of diversity and multicultural contributions. Includes photographs, documents, newspaper clippings, political cartoons, works of art, oral histories, and features more than 20,000 specially digitized primary sources from The Bancroft Library. Part of Calisphere, University of California's free public gateway to primary sources.
  • California Language Archive (CLA)
    A catalog and online archive of the indigenous languages of California, western North American and the Americas. The archive includes nearly 8,000 audio clips in 90 languages collected in field recordings dating back to 1949. In addition to digital audio files, the archive contains 60,000 scanned manuscript pages from the Department of Linguistics' Survey of California and Other Indian Languages research center. With a special focus on California, the archive also includes native languages from Alaska to South America and from the Pacific Ocean to the Atlantic. CLA is a collaboration between the Survey of California and Other Indian Languages and the Berkeley Language Center (BLC), both archives at the UC Berkeley.
  • Calisphere
    Gateway to digitized images from the libraries and museums of 10 University of California campuses and more than 100 cultural heritage organizations in California. Includes more than 150,000 photographs, diaries, documents, oral histories and other resources. Serves as a single point of access for more than 300 UC-created websites and collections.
  • CAMIO: Catalog of Art Museum Images Online
    A collection of some 95,000 art images from around the world contributed and described by leading museums. All rights-cleared for educational use.
  • Cervantes Project / Proyecto Cervantes
    The Cervantes Project is composed of the Cervantes International Bibliography Online (CIBO), the Cervantes Digital Library which are electronic editions of Cervantes' complete works) and the Cervantes Digital Archive of Images (CDAI).
  • Cities and Buildings Database
    A collection of over 5000 digitized images of buildings and cities drawn from across time and throughout the world ranging from New York to Central Asia, from African villages to the Parc de la Villette. Users can now search for buildings by country, city, style, title, architect, date of construction, as well as other fields.
  • Classical Music Library
    A database of classical music recordings containing more than 50,000 tracks cross-referenced to a database of supplementary reference information. Over 32 labels are represented. Recordings include early written music (e.g. Gregorian Chant) to contemporary composers. All genres are represented including vocal and choral music, chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental and opera. The database provides multiple recordings of major works. Music Online.
  • Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, and Reference Works
    Full text and audio transcripts of therapy sessions and related first-person accounts such as diaries, oral histories, memoirs, and letters. Also includes a selection of handbooks and reference works.
  • Counseling and Therapy in Video
    Online collection of video available for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. Upon completion will include 400 hours and more than 330 videos. Currently includes 276 videos totaling roughly 300 hours.
  • Database of Recorded American Music (DRAM)
    Contains audio files of over 1200 CDs, featuring 7500 compositions of classical music, folk music, opera, jazz, country music, early rhythm and blues, musical theater, experimental music, electronic music, early rock and Native American music from the United States. This broad spectrum of American music is derived from recordings available on the New World Records label, and works of contemporary classical American music from labels such as CRI, Albany, innova, Cedille, XI, Pogus, Deep Listening, and Mutable. QuickTime 6.5.2 or later required.
  • Digital Atlas of Economic Plants
    Part of The Digital Plant Atlas, an international project that makes a unique contribution to the identification of seeds, fruits, roots, tubers, bulbs, stem fragments, leaves, flowers, buds and resins. The plant parts are illustrated with high-quality colour photographs and accompanied by a scale and their scientific name. The local names in various languages are included in an index.
  • Digital Library for Earth System Education
    Provides access to collections of educational resources, earth data sets and imagery and other support systems for teaching and learning about the Earth system.
  • Digital Scriptorium
    A growing image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts that unites scattered resources from many institutions into an international tool for teaching and scholarly research. Among the participating institutions to this project are the Bancroft Library, the Robbins Collection, and the Hargrove Music Library at UC Berkeley, Columbia University, and the New York Public Library.
  • Digital Seed Atlas of the Netherlands
    Part of The Digital Plant Atlas, an international project that makes a unique contribution to the identification of seeds, fruits, roots, tubers, bulbs, stem fragments, leaves, flowers, buds and resins. The plant parts are illustrated with high-quality color photographs and accompanied by a scale and their scientific name. The local names in various languages are included in an index.
  • UC Shared Images: LUNA Imaging Collections
    Provides 330,000 high resolution, zoom-able digital images in about a dozen image collections including the David Rumsey Historical Map Collection, the Farber Gravestone Collection, Hoover Institution Poster Collection. Cross-disciplinary coverage includes the arts, history, architecture, design, literature, city planning, anthropology, landscape architecture, archaeology, geography, cartography, gender, ethnic and area studies. [Note: The collections in the UC Image Service can be viewed in two ways: the Insight Browser allows users to view the collection using a web browser; the Luna Insight software provides greater functionality including cross-search all collections but must be downloaded.]
  • Earthquake Engineering Online Archive (NISEE)
    Searchable repository of significant, publicly-funded, research and development texts, photographs and digital images, strong motion data, and software in earthquake, structural, and geotechnical engineering. Database also includes full text for earthquake research reports published at UC Berkeley, the NISEE software library, and images from EQIIS, including the Steinbrugge, Godden, and Kozak collections. New materials are added daily. Requires membership for access; free for UC Berkeley faculty, staff and students by email request to nisee@berkeley.edu.
  • Endangered Languages Database
    A free online portal from the World Oral Literature Project at the University of Cambridge. Using data on language endangerment drawn from three authoritative sources (Ethnologue, the UNESCO Atlas of the World's Languages in Danger, and the work of conservation biologist William Sutherland ), the database provides access to collections and recordings of oral literature that exist in archives around the world. (Oral literature "may include ritual texts, curative chants, epic poems, musical genres, folk tales, creation tales, songs, myths, spells, legends, proverbs, riddles, tongue-twisters, word games, recitations, life histories or historical narratives").
  • Ethnographic Video Online
    A growing collection (currently more than 400 titles) of classic and contemporary ethnographic films, with wide-ranging coverage of the world's regions and cultures, and by some of the most influential filmmakers of the genre. The films explore key themes in anthropology and the broader social sciences, including language and culture, family and kinship, sex and gender, social stratification and status, music and the arts, and religion.
  • Europeana
    Provides open access to more than 15 million digital objects, including film material, photos, paintings, sounds, maps, manuscripts, books, newspapers and archival papers from more than 1500 European institutions. Europeana -- the European digital library, museum and archive -- launched in 2008 and is funded by the European Commission and its member states. This current prototype is one of many parallel projects of The European Library.
  • Gallica
    The Bibliotheque Nationale de France's digital library provides free electronic access to one of the world's largest collections of digitized books, periodicals, documents, manuscripts, images and audio-visual resources. One can browse (Decouverte), search (Recherche), or explore thematic groupings of materials (Dossiers).
  • Great Buildings Online
    Gateway to architicture around the world and across history. Documents 1000 buildings and hundreds of leading architects.
  • Helios: Photography Online
    Online collections of more than 1500 images from the Smithsonian American Art Museum Photography Collection.
  • History and Politics Out Loud
    A multimedia database documenting and delivering audiorecordings relevant to American history and politics. Includes speeches and other addresses by US presidents and other political leaders.
  • History Channel Speech Archives
    Online audiorecordings of speeches and other addresses by international political leaders; on-site recordings of notable historic events.
  • IDEAS: Image Database to Enhance Asian Studies
    Includes examples Asian art and material culture. Materials may be used for educational, non-commercial purposes only. Acknowledgement to be given to the ASIANetwork-Luce Asian Art in the Undergraduate Curriculum Project and to the college from whose collection the work comes. The individual college retains copyright to the work.
  • Images from the History of Medicine
    Access to the nearly 60,000 images in the prints and photograph collection of the History of Medicine Division (HMD) of the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). Includes portraits, pictures of institutions, caricatures, genre scenes, and graphic art in a variety of media.
  • Images of Historical Earthquakes: The Jan T. Kozak Collection
    Contains 875 images of historical earthquakes. Images are accessible chronologically or by countries or region.
  • Index of Christian Art
    Indexes early Christian and medieval architecture and art objects to 1400 via thematic and iconographic indexes. Several thousand images are now available as links from individual records about art works.
  • Internet Archive: Moving Images
    An online archive of "ephemeral films," including films produced by and for many hundreds of important US corporations, nonprofit organizations, trade associations, community and interest groups, and educational institutions. Includes advertisement and publicity films, educational films, government propaganda, and other historically important moving image materials.
  • KRPia
    In Korean. Database of primary sources including Koryosa, Samguk sagi, Samguk yusa, Chungbo munhon pigo, and many other titles in Korean history, literature, civilization, and medicine. Includes image files of original texts in classical Chinese with searchable translated texts in Korean.
  • Legacy Tobacco Documents Library (LTDL)
    Contains more than 9.7 million documents (50,918,305 pages) created by major tobacco companies related to their advertising, manufacturing, marketing, sales, and scientific research activities.
  • Library of American Broadcasting
    The Library of America holds a wide-ranging collection of audio and video recordings, books, pamphlets, periodicals, personal collections, oral histories, photographs, scripts and vertical files devoted exclusively to the history of broadcasting. Site includes an online sampling of vintage radio commercials and an online archive of historic photographs related to radio broadcasting.
  • Living Room Candidate: Historical Presidential Campaign Commercials
    An archive of historic and current political advertisements from television and the internet. Most clips include transcripts.
  • Lugt's Repertoire Online
    NOTE: To search either Repertoire or Libraries, use scroll bar on left-hand side of page to scroll down to bottom to locate the two search bars. Click on either Search Repertoire or Search Libraries to open up a search window. Online edition of Lugt's Repertoire des Catalogues de Ventes Publiques, fN8650.L8, v.1-4, (Art History/Classics Library), listing over 60,000 art sales catalogues dated 1600-1900 from libraries in Europe and the US. The catalogues provide information on the provenance of art objects, the history of collecting, and historical market trends. Numerous catalogues have been added to the original work and corrections made. Searchable by Lugt number, date, place, provenance, auction house and existing copies. In addition, the Libraries database allows the searching of libraries holding art sales catalogues.
  • Metavid
    A searchable archive of video from the United States House and Senate Floor Debates captured though C-SPAN, from 2006 to the present. Can be searched by topic/subject keyword or person. Video can also be freely downloaded by anyone.
  • Naxos Music Library (NML)
    A collection of Western classical music including the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogs of over 170,000 tracks. Includes classical music, jazz, world, folk and Chinese music. Includes notes and biographical information on composers and artists.
  • Naxos Music Library Jazz
    Offers close to 20,000 tracks of jazz from 1,900 albums. Over 500 jazz artist are represented.
  • Newsfilm Library
    A partial online catalog of the Fox Movietonews newsreel collection (Century Fox Film Corporation) at the University of South Carolina. The Newsfilm Library includes all Movietonews reels from 1919-1934, as well as the complete newsreels and all associated outtakes from September 1942 through August 1944.
  • NYPL Digital Gallery
    Provides access to over 275,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more.
  • Online Archive of California (OAC)
    A searchable and browseable resource that brings together historical materials from a variety of California institutions, including museums, historical societies, and archives. Contains over 120,000 images; 50,000 pages of documents, letters, and oral histories; and 8,000 guides to collections. Images are organized into thematic and institutional collections, such as historical topics, nature, places, and technology.
  • Parker Library on the Web
    Contains over 550 complete manuscripts from Corpus Christi's Parker Library of manuscripts and is particularly strong in Old English texts. Includes works in theology, music, medieval travelogues and maps, apocalypses, bestiaries, royal ceremonies, historical chronicles and Bibles as well as a collection of English illuminated manuscripts. Of interest to scholars working in many fields including historians of art, music, science, literature, politics and religion.
  • Perseus Digital Library
    A collection of more than 500 primary and secondary texts on the study of ancient Greece and Rome. Also includes images of vases, sculptures, buildings and other art and archaeological works.
  • Public Health Image Library (PHIL)
    Collection of still images, image sets, and multimedia files related to public health sponsored by the the Centers for Disease Control (CDC) National Center for Health Marketing, and National Center for Infectious Diseases.
  • SCIPIO (Sales Catalog Index Project Input Online)
    Indexes art auction and rare book sales catalogs, and provides dates and locations of sales, auction houses, sellers, institutional holdings, and titles of works. Covers private sales and sale catalogs from all major European and North American auction houses in subject areas of world art from all time periods, books and manuscripts, painting, sculpture, drawing, prints and photographs, furniture, decorative and applied arts, musical instruments, and objets d'art. Dates of coverage 1599 to the present.
  • Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives
    Documents the key events, trends, and movements in 1960s America. Includes 70,000 pages of letters, diaries, and oral histories; more than 30,000 pages of posters, broadsides, pamphlets, advertisements, and rare audio and video materials. Enhanced by dozens of scholarly document projects, featuring annotated primary-source content that is analyzed and contextualized through interpretive essays by historians.
  • Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries
    Includes approximately 35,000 tracks of world music and sound recordings from the archives of Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, cross-referenced to a database of supplementary reference information. Categories include American folk, blues, bluegrass, and jazz. Music Online.
  • SPIRO database - Architectural Visual Resources Library
    The visual online catalog of UC Berkeley's Architecture Visual Resources Library (AVRL). Images in SPIRO are downloadable for faculty and students of UC Berkeley for non-profit educational uses, but not for publication. The AVRL collection numbers over 275,000 35mm slides, 20,000 photographs, and 75,000 digital images. A more limited set of SPIRO images is available through the UC Image Service.
  • Tebtunis Papyri Collection
    Contains some 21,000 papyrus document fragments found in 1899/1900 at the site of ancient Tebtunis, Egypt. [Note: This collection is part of the UC Image Service and can be viewed in two ways: the Insight Browser allows users to view the collection using a web browser; the Luna Insight software provides greater functionality but must be downloaded.]
  • Theatre in Video
    Contains over 250 of the world's most important 20th century plays together with over 100 video documentaries, including the BBC Shakespeare Series, delivered in streaming video.
  • Vanderbilt Television Index
    Holding more than 30,000 individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and more than 9,000 hours of special news-related programming including ABC's Nightline since 1989. These special reports and periodic news broadcasts cover presidential press conferences and political campaign coverage, and national and international events.
  • Vincent Voice Library
    Index to the Vincent Voice Library, a collection of speeches, performances, lectures, interviews, broadcasts, etc. by over 50,000 people, recorded over the last 100 years.
  • Visual Collections: Images of Art, History and Culture
    Includes more than 30,000 images from some 35 image collections from museums, universities and private collections throughout the world in the areas of cartography, fine arts, architecture, and photography. Some of the collections included are free and open to the public; others are restricted to educational use only or on a subscription basis only. Among the collections included are: USF Rare Map Collection, MOAC (Museums and Online Archive of California), Japanese Historical Maps Catena Historic Gardens and Landscapes Archive and many more. [Note: This collection can be viewed in two ways: the Insight Browser allows users to view the collection using a web browser; the Luna Insight software provides greater functionality but must be downloaded.]
  • William G. Godden Structural Engineering Slide Library
    Contains 1000 images based on Professor William G. Godden's 30 years of teaching structural analysis, structural design, and architectural engineering, during which time he photographed many structures throughout the world for the express purpose of illustrating particular facets of structural theory, response, or design.
  • Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 (WASM)
    Collects and analyzes more than 1,000 documents and almost 400 images on the history of women and social movements in the United States between 1600 and 2000. Also includes links to other websites and a dictionary of social movements and organizations.
  • Working Women, 1800 -1930
    Provides access to digitized historical, manuscript, and image collections. Explores women's roles in the US economy between the Civil War and the Great Depression. Documents working conditions, conditions in the home, costs of living, recreation, health and hygeine, conduct of life, policies and regulations governing the workplace, and social issues. When completed, the collections will contain more than 2200 books and pamphlets, 1000 photographs and 10,000 pages from manuscript collections.

TV Program and Credit Databases

Transcripts

  • Lexis/Nexis Academic Includes transcripts rom a broad array of broadcast news and news programming
  • Simply Scripts
  • Drew's Script-O-Rama
  • PBS Includes transcripts for a large number of programs aired on PBS
  • Vanderbilt Television Index Holding more than 30,000 individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and more than 9,000 hours of special news-related programming, including ABC's Nightline since 1989. These special reports and periodic news broadcasts cover presidential press conferences and political campaign coverage, and national and international events. 
Last Update: 03 Dec 09:57