Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
Jastrow – Dictionary of Targumim, Talmudim and Midrashic Literature
An essential tool for the study of Rabbinic literature
Dictionary of Abbreviations and Acronyms
Abbreviations in 24 categories from classical and contemporary sources
Otsar Rashe Tevot
Over 16,000 abbreviations from Judaic sources and commentaries
Online version of the 22-volume Encyclopedia Judaica. Includes more than 21,000 entries on Jewish life, culture, history and religion, written by Israeli, American and European subject specialists.
Contains the complete unedited contents of the 12-volume Jewish Encyclopedia, which was originally published between 1901-1906. Contains over 15,000 articles and illustrations. Since the original work was completed almost 100 years ago, it does not cover a significant portion of modern Jewish History (e.g., the creation of Israel, the Holocaust, etc.).
YIVO Encyclopedia of Jews in Eastern Europe
Provides a complete picture of the history and culture of Jews in Eastern Europe from the beginnings of their settlement in the region to the present.
Historical Dictionary of the Hebrew Language (Ma'agarim)
Encompasses the entire Hebrew lexicon throughout its history; presenting Hebrew words in their morphological, semantical, and contextual development from first appearance in written texts to the present. The HDP has two lexicographical sections: the Ancient Literature Section and the Modern Literature Section . (In Hebrew.)
Hebrew-English-Hebrew Dictionary. Entries include translations, etymologies, usage examples, rhyming dictionary, and thesaurus. Link to Morphix 2.0 for morphological entries. A pop-up Hebrew keyboard is available. In Hebrew.