Classic Texts Online
Sefaria Living Library of Jewish Texts
Large collection of Jewish cannon material assembled in the public domain. Easy to navigate. Includes Hebrew and some English translation.
Piyut Archive / הזמנה לפיוט
Database for traditional piyutim (religious poetry) with commentary and analysis.
Tanach (Hebrew with translations in Aramaic and English), Mishna, Talmud, Rambam, Tosefta and more with a useful online search-engine.
Talmud Bavli Soncino English Translation
Each sugia available for pdf download.
Midreshet ארון הספרים
Portal to a comprehensive list of online text sites. In Hebrew.
Vikitext - ויקיטקסט
Traditional Jewish Cannon with some classical commentary. Clearly organized. In Hebrew.
Contains about 141,000 documents, and more than 15,000 biographies of authors, covering more than 90% of all books published in Hebrew languages from the years 1470-1960 Features a complete list of books in Hebrew and books with text in Ladino and Yiddish, as well lesser-known Jewish languages such as Judeo-Arabic, Bucharit, Judeo-Greek, Judeo-Afrikaans and Judeo-Kurdish.
Books and Text Collections
Contains more than 62,434 Judaic books, scanned page after page in their original format. UCB access only. In Hebrew.
Over 51,434 out-of-print classical religious Hebrew and Yiddish texts and periodicals. Freely available both for study and downloading. All searching is in Hebrew characters and a keyboard for input is provided. In Hebrew.
Online collection of Jewish texts. Includes rabbinic case-law rulings, and the Bible, the Talumd and their principal commentaries; works about Jewish law, codes of Jewish law, such as Maimonides' Mishneh Torah and the Shulchan Aruch; Midrashim, Zohar, Responsa, etc. Access to the Talmudic Encyclopedia also included. Requires Adobe Flash player. UCB access Only. In Hebrew.
Maps and Manuscripts
Ketubbot,Talmudic Literature, Liturgy, Personal Archives. Israel National Library.
Valmadonna Collection of Hebrew and Jewish Books from India
Available through OskiCat.
Goethe University Online Collection
Approximately 10,000 titles available online in Hebrew, Yiddish, German, English and French.
Historic Maps of Ancient Cities
See Holy Land Maps and Maps of Jerusalem
ETS HAIM / LIVRARIA MONTEZINOS
172 beautiful Jewish manuscripts (16,000 folios) from the collection of the historic Ets Haim library of the Amsterdam Jewish Community.
Searching Library Catalogs
Use OskiCat to locate materials related to your topic, including books, government publications, and audio and video recordings, in the libraries of UC Berkeley. OskiCat will show you the location and availability of the items that we own. See the guide for suggestions on constructing your searches.
Use Melvyl to locate materials related to your topic located at other campuses in the UC system. Next Generation Melvyl also allows you to expand your search to libraries worldwide. Clicking on the REQUEST button in the detailed view of a catalog record prompt you to fill out a form to request the item through our Interlibrary Loan office.