Digital Collections in Spanish and Portuguese
E-book and e-journal collections, full-text online databases, and other digitized or born digital corpa in Spanish and Portuguese are listed below. Consult Article Databases and Indexes under the Research Tools tab to discover articles available in both print and electronic formats.
The Library offers over 130 e-book and text collections in specific subject areas. Many of these e-books also available through OskiCat and Melvyl. You can limit your search in OskiCat to "Available online," and in Melvyl to "Online resources."
- ebrary (all disciplines)
- Humanities E-Book Project (humanities)
- Oxford Scholarship Online (political science, religion, philosophy, physics)
- Springer Electronic Book Package (Melvyl only; sciences and social sciences)
- Complete list...
University of California E-book Projects
Pronounced "hah-tee", this cooperative system contains millions of books scanned from UC and other major research libraries, including those digitized by Google and the Internet Archive. Search on information about the book (such as author or title), or words in the text. Full text is available for items that are not protected by copyright. Items in the HathiTrust catalog can be grouped into collections and shared online. For details, see the FAQ page.
Google Book Search
Books on many subjects, including titles from the UC libraries, digitized in partnership with Google. Full text can be displayed only if the book is out of copyright (generally, published before 1923) or if the copyright holder has given permission.
Internet Archive: Text Archive
Several hundred thousand books in the public domain, from the Open Content Alliance (OCA). Includes many books from our collections.
UC Press E-Books Collection, 1982-2004
1,400 titles on a wide range of subjects from the University of California Press. Includes about 30% of UC Press books, both in and out of print. Books can be viewed but not downloaded.
Spanish and Portuguese Electronic Text Collections
Biblioteca Nacional de Espana: Colecciones Digitales
Provides access to several large digital collections including: Quijote, Posters of the Republic and Civil War, Cartography (16th - 19th centuries); Hispanic iconography, Goya, and Classic Spanish Works.
Biblioteca Virtual Miquel de Cervantes
Digital library that provides free electronic access to one of the world's largest collections of digitized books, periodicals, documents, manuscripts, dissertations, images and audio-visual resources.
Cervantes Project / Proyecto Cervantes
The Cervantes Project is composed of the Cervantes International Bibliography Online (CIBO), the Cervantes Digital Library which are electronic editions of Cervantes' complete works) and the Cervantes Digital Archive of Images (CDAI).
Complutensian Digital Collection / Coleccion Digitale Complutense (CDC)
Provides access to more than 70,000 documents including scientific articles, old books and engravings, and doctoral theses from the Universidad Complutense Matrid.
A growing image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts that unites scattered resources from many institutions into an international tool for teaching and scholarly research. Among the participating institutions to this project are the Bancroft Library, the Robbins Collection, and the Hargrove Music Library at UC Berkeley, Columbia University, and the New York Public Library.
Electronic Text Collections in Western European Literature
Lists literary texts freely available on the Internet in Western European languages other than English. Languages included are: Catalan, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, French, Galician, German, Greek, Irish, Italian, Latin, Norwegian, Old Norse and Icelandic, Portuguese, Romanian, Provencal, Spanish, Swedish.
Provides open access to more than 15 million digital objects, including film material, photos, paintings, sounds, maps, manuscripts, books, newspapers and archival papers from more than 1500 European institutions.
Internet Medieval Sourcebook
Provides access selected excerpts to sources particularly useful for the teaching of Medieval Studies. Also includes full-texts fo medieval sources and a section on ancient, medieval and Byzantine hagiographical sources.
LIBRO: The Library of Iberian Resources Online
Includes a number of basic texts and sources in translation focusing on Iberian history from the 5th to the 17th century. The list of texts included is based on recent but out-of-print university press monographs.
Lletra (Catalan Literature Online)
Includes the works of Catalan authors such as: Ausias March, Mrece Rodoreda, Quim Monzo, Ramon Llull, Jesus Moncada, Albert Sanchez Pinol, Carme Riera, Joan Brossa, etc. The site also serves as a gateway to other sites on Catalan literature.
Teatro Espanol del Siglo de Oro
Contains the full-text of more than 800 plays written by 16 Spanish dramatists of the 16th and 17th centuries. Dramatists included are: Lope de Vega, Calderon de la Barca, Agustin Moreto, etc.