Spanish and Portuguese

Research Tools for Spanish and Portuguese

Search the catalogs

Archival Collections and Primary Sources

Use these web sites, print reference sources, or library databases to find primary sources, such as manuscripts, diaries, letters, firsthand accounts, or historical documents on a subject, person, event or issue. See also the library guide Finding Primary Sources and List of Archival Collections on the Berkeley campus.

*Blue asterisk indicates that the resource was recently added to the guide.

Online Resources

Print Resources

  • Fuentes de la historia española e hispanoamericana / Benito Sánchez Alonso. 3a. edición. Madrid: Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas, Instituto Miguel de Cervantes, 1952.
    Doe Reference DP7 .S3 1952 v.1-3
    Graduate Services. DP7 .S3 1952 v.1-3
    Main Stacks DP7 .S3 1952 v.1-3
    Bancroft Z1601 .S26 1952 v.1-3

Library Databases

The complete list of databases is available through the Library's Electronic Resource Finder.

  • Biblioteca Virtual Miquel de Cervantes
    Digital library that provides free electronic access to one of the world's largest collections of digitized books, periodicals, documents, manuscripts, dissertations, images and audio-visual resources.
  • David Rumsey Map Collection
    Contains to date over 8,000 maps online and focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North and South America cartographic history materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia and Africa are also represented.
  • Digital Scriptorium
    An image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts. Among the participating institutions to this project are the Bancroft Library at UC Berkeley, Columbia University and the Union Theological Seminary.
  • Empire Online
    Includes 70,000 images of original manuscript and printed documents to support study and research in the field of colonial and empire studies. Five sections include: Cultural Contacts, 1492-1969; Empire Writing and the Literature of Empire; The Visible Empire; Religion and Empire; and Race, Class, Imperialism and Colonialism, c. 1607-1969 (coming soon). In addition to original documents, this database contains scholarly essays and analysis.
  • European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750
    Contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.
  • Europeana
    Europeana the European digital library provides direct access to more than 10 million digital objects, including film material, photos, paintings, sounds, maps, manuscripts, books, newspapers and archival papers.
  • Gerritsen Collection, Women's History Online, 1543-1945
    Indexes over 4700 publications including books, pamphlets, and periodicals in 15 languages from Europe, US, UK, Canada and New Zealand that reflect the revolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights.
  • LIBRO: The Library of Iberian Resources Online
    Includes a number of basic texts and sources in translation focusing on Iberian history from the 5th to the 17th century. The list of texts included is based on recent but out-of-print university press monographs.
  • Life and Times of Jorge Luis Borges
    A collection of materials related to Borges' life and works. Includes manuscripts and letters, books, periodicals, photographs, audio and video recordings, newspaper and magazine clippings and other objects and documents. Includes a bibliography of Borges' works and a secondary bibliography of works about Borges. Interface in both English and Spanish.

Article Indexes and Databases

Listed below is a broad selection of article indexes recommended for research in Spanish and Portuguese. For additional resources, please consult the Library's Electronic Resource Finder.

Online

Print

Diccionario de periódicos diarios españoles del siglo XX / Antonio López de Zuazo Algar. Madrid: Editorial Fragua, 2008.
Doe Reference PN5314 .L66 2008

Historical Periodicals Directory / Eric H. Boehm, Barbara H. Pope, and Marie S. Ensign, editors. Santa Barbara: ABC-Clio, 1981-c1986.
Main Stacks D20 .H53 v.1-5

Revistas literarias españolas del siglo XX (1919-1975) / Manuel J. Ramos Ortega, edición y coordinación general; José María Barrera López et al., coordinadores de capítulos. Madrid: Ollero y Ramos, 2005.
Doe Reference PQ6072.R448 2005 v.1-3

Library Databases

  • MLA International Bibliography
    Indexes journal articles, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings and other materials supporting critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Sponsored by the Modern Language Association.
  • Arts and Humanities Citation Index (Web of Knowledge)
    Indexes over 1,000 of the leading arts and humanities journals, and provides searching of footnoted citations.
  • Bibliografia de la Literatura Espanola Desde 1980
    Includes over 80,000 records for books, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, bibliographies, congresses, and other miscellaneous material on subjects including literary theory, literary genres, popular literature, Hispanism, bibliographies and authors.
  • Basque Database
    Provides access to information about Basque topics in journal articles, edited books, dissertations and other publications. Continues the work of Jon Bilbao (1914-1994), "The Father of Basque Bibliography." His 15-volume Eusko-Bibliographia covers all publications written by or about Basques through 1980, containing a half million citations.
  • Compludoc
    Spanish index of scholarly journals. Includes tables of contents.
  • CSIC Bases de Datos Bibliograficas (Ciencias Sociales y Humanidades)
    One of four freely available article summary databases, this one provides citations to thousands of scholarly journals in the social sciences and the humanities mainly published in Spain. They mostly include citations from academic journals, but also a selection of congress and conference proceedings, serials, compilations, reports and monographs. Perform keyword searches in all journals included ("consulta conjunta") or by thematic area ("area tematica").
  • Dialnet
    Lists almost 1.4 million articles in over 4,000 mostly Spanish journals and magazines, and thousands of books and dissertations. Subjects covered include primarily the sciences and technology, but also the social sciences, humanities, education, business, and law. Open-access database created by a group of Spanish universities under the leadership of the Universidad de la Rioja, Logrono, Spain.
  • Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
    Covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Among the broad subjects Covered are women in art, women in religion, marriage, sexuality and family.
  • Handbook of Latin American Studies
    Indexes books, journals and proceedings to create an annual bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars, alternating between focusing on the humanities and the social sciences.
  • HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index)
    Indexes books, journals, conference proceedings, and official documents on Hispanic America (North, Central, and South), Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States.
  • Historical Abstracts
    Indexes over 2,000 journals, as well as historical book reviews and dissertations, published worldwide about all aspects of world history (excluding US and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Articles covered were written from 1954 to the present.
  • IBZ - Internationale Bibliographie der Zeitschriftenliteratur
    Indexes over 5600 journals worldwide, specializing in the humanities and the social sciences.
  • International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)
    Indexes over 3000 journals, books, chapters, and book reviews in the fields of economics, political science, sociology, and anthropology from more than 100 countries. More than 70 languages are represented, with 30% percent of records published in languages other than English.
  • ITER: Gateway to the Renaissance
    Indexes over 300 journal titles to create a bibliography of articles, essays, books and reviews related to the Middle Ages and the Renaissance (400-1700). Includes a number of databases useful to the fields of classical, medieval, and Renaissance studies such as Iter Italicum, a catalog of Renaissance humanistic manuscripts found in libraries and collections around the world, International Directory of Scholars, International Directory of Renaissance and Reformation Associations and Institutes, and Scholars of Early Modern Studies (volume 34).
  • Literature Resource Center (LRC)
    Indexes biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers by providing access to content of numerous print counterparts including Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and Dictionary of Literary Biography.
  • PAIS International
    Indexes books, journals, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, and web sources related to public policy, politics, economics, and social issues worldwide. Includes publications from over 120 countries. Some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish. The Archive covers English-language material only.
  • Periodicals Archive Online (formerly PCI Full Text)
    An online periodical archive that provides access to some 475 digitized journals in the humanities and social sciences. A sister database, Periodicals Index Online, provides additional indexing for articles in over 4,700 periodicals.
  • Periodicals Index Online (formerly PCI)
    Indexes millions of articles published in over 4,700 periodicals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. A sister database, Periodicals Archive Online, provides a full-text archive of some 475 journals published between 1802 and 1995.
  • R-CSIC
    CSIC (Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Cientificas) provides open access to more than 30 scholarly journals from Spain in a broad range of disciplines. See also Digital.CSIC.
  • RACO: Revistes Catalanes amb Acces Obert (Catalan Journals in Open Access)
    A cooperative open access repository of mostly Catalan (and some Spanish) full text scholarly journal articles.
  • RedALyC: Red de Revistas Cientificas de America Latina y El Caribe
    Indexes some 180 social science serials published in Latin America and Spain. Includes over 160,000 full text articles. Developed by the Universidad Autonoma de Estado de Mexico.
  • SciELO: Scientific Electronic Library Online
    Indexes over 650 scholarly online journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities to meet the scientific communication needs of developing countries, particularly those in Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain, and Portugal.
  • Sociological Abstracts
    Indexes over 1,900 journals, books, dissertations, and reviews in the social sciences on sociological topics as well as selected anthropology, criminology, demography, law, social psychology, and urban development.
  • TRACES
    A freely accessible bibliographical database that collocates all that has been published on Catalan language and literature. The TRACES project was created in 1987 by the Grup d'Estudis de Literatura Catalana Contemporania (GELCC) at the Universitat Autonoma de Barcelona (UAB).
  • Women's Studies International
    Indexes books, journals, magazines, and other resources related to research and commentary on women and women's issues, feminism, and gender. Platform change: All NISC databases have switched to the EBSCOhost interface.

Bibliographies and Subject Guides

Selected lists of materials in any format organized around a common theme or topic.

Library Databases

Online

Print


Bibliografía cronológica de la linguística, la gramática y la lexicografía del español desde el año 1701 hasta el año 1800 (BICRES). / Hans-Josef Niederehe. Amsterdam; Philadelphia: J. Benjamins Pub. Co., 1994-2005. Main Stacks PC4070.A12.N5 1994 v.1-3 (1994-2005) Library use only Read at Google Read at Google


Bibliografía géral dos Açores: sêquencia do Dicionario bibliográfico português / João Afonso. Angra do Heroísmo: Secretaria Regional da Educação e Cultura, 1985- Main Stacks DP702.A86.A12 A35, 1985 t. 1-3 (A-FU) & online


Bibliografía de linguística general y española, 1964-1990 / Valerio Baéz San José et al. Madrid: Servicio de Publicaciones, Universidad de Alcalá, 1995- Main Stacks P121.A12 B52 1995 v.1-5 (c1995-1999) Index (v.7) Library use only Read at Google Read at Google


Biblos: enciclopédia Verbo das literaturas de língua portuguesa. manual de repertorios bibliográficos para la investigación de la historia y la literatura hispanoamericanas y filipinas/ Sylvia-Lyn Hilton, Lisboa: Verbo, 1995-2005. Doe Reference PQ9006.B53 1995 v.1-5 Read at Google Read at Google


Catálogo de novelas y novelistas españoles del siglo XIX / Juan Ignacio Ferreras. Madrid: Cátedra, c1979. Doe Reference PQ6144.A12.F4 Read at Google Read at Google


Diccionari de la literatura catalana / director `Alex Broch. Barcelona: Enciclop`edia Catalana, 2008. Doe Reference PC3901 .D52 2008 Read at Google Read at Google


Diccionario del cine español / Academia de las Artes y las Ciencias Cinemátograficas de España; dirección de José Luis Borau. Madrid: Alianza Editorial: Sociedad General de Autores y Editores: Fundación Autor, c1998. Doe Reference PN1993.5.S7.D54 1998 Library use only Read at Google Read at Google


Diccionario geográfico-estadístico-histórico de España y sus posesiones de ultramar. Por Pascual Madoz. Madrid [Est. tip. de P. Madoz y L. Sagasti] 1845-50. Main Stacks DP12.M2 v. 1-16 (1845-1850) Library use only


Dicionário de autores de literaturas africanas de língua portuguesa / Aldónio Gomes, Fernanda Cavacas. Lisboa: Caminho, c1997. Main Stacks PQ9900.A52.G66 1997 Library use only Read at Google Read at Google


*Dicionário de Fernando Pessoa e do modernismo português / coordenação, Fernando Cabral Martins. Lisboa: Editorial Caminho, c2008. Doe Reference PQ9261.P417 Z459 2008 Read at Google Read at Google


Dicionário de literatura: portuguesa, brasileira, galega, africana, estilística literária / Jacinto do Prado Coelho, direção. Lisboa: Figueirinhas, 2002- Doe Reference PQ9006 .D535 2002 v.1-3 Read at Google Read at Google


*Diccionario del cine iberoamericano: España, Portugal y América / editor y coordinador: Emilio Casares Rodicio. Madrid: SGAE: Fundación Autor, 2011- Doe Reference PN1993.45 .D528 2011 v.1-4 (2011); v.6-10 in preparation Read at Google Read at Google


Dicionário do cinema português, 1989-2003 / Jorge Leitão Ramos. Lisboa: Editorial Caminho, c2005. Doe Reference PN1993.5.P6.R353 2005 Read at Google Read at Google


*Diccionario histórico, geográfico y cultural de Filipinas y el Pacífico / Leoncio Cabrero Fernández, Miguel Luque Talaván, Fernando Palanco Aguado, coordinación y dirección. Madrid: Agencia Española de Cooperación Internacional: Fundación Carolina, 2008. South/Southeast Asian Library DS667 .D53 2008 Read at Google Read at Google


Diccionario político y social del siglo XIX español / Javier Fernández Sebástian, Juan Francisco Fuentes, dirs.; con la colaboracion de, Oscar Alvárez Gila ... [et al.]. Madrid: Alianza Editorial, 2002. Main Stacks JA64.S6.D53 2002 Read at Google Read at Google


Diccionario político y social del siglo XX español / Javier Fernández Sebastián, Juan Francisco Fuentes, dirs. Madrid: Alianza Editorial, 2008. Main Stacks DP233 .D53 2008 Read at Google Read at Google


Dictionary of the Literature of the Iberian Peninsula / edited by German Bleiberg, Maureen Ihrie, and Janet Pérez. New York: Greenwood Press, 1993. Doe Reference PN849.S6 D54 1993 Read at Google Read at Google


Double Minorities of Spain : A Bio-bibliographic Guide to Women Writers of the Catalan, Galician, and Basque Countries / edited by Kathleen McNerney and Cristina Enriquez de Salamanca. New York: MLA, 1994. Doe Reference PC3904.D68 1994 Read at Google Read at Google


Escritoras españolas, 1500-1900: catálogo / La Biblioteca Nacional de Madrid. Madrid: Chadwyck-Healey España, c1992-c1993. Doe Reference PQ6173.B52 1992a v.1-2


The Feminist Encyclopedia of Spanish Literature / Janet Pérez, ed. Westport, CT, Greenwood Press, 2002. Doe Reference Hall PQ6055 .F46 2002 v.1-2 Read at Google Read at Google


Fuentes de información para los estudios de las mujeres. Isabel de Torres Ramirez and Ana María. Muñoz-Muñoz. Granada: Universidad de Granada, 2000. Main Stacks HQ1150.A12 T67 2000 Read at Google Read at Google


Guia del cine español / Carlos Aguilar. Madrid: Catedra, 2007. Doe Reference PN1993.5.S7.A68 2007 Read at Google Read at Google


Historia de la lengua y literatura castellana. D. Julio Cejador y Frauca. Madrid, Tip. de la "Rev. de arch., bibl., y museos," 1915-22. Doe Reference PQ6032.C45 v. 1-14 NRLF/Main PQ6032.C45 v. 1-5, 8-14


Historical Dictionary of Modern Spain, 1700-1988 / Robert W. Kern, editor-in-chief, Meredith D. Dodge, associate editor. New York: Greenwood Press, 1990. Doe Reference DP192 .H57 1990 Main Stacks DP192 .H57 1990 Read at Google Read at Google


Historical Dictionary of the Spanish Empire, 1402-1975 / James S. Olson, ed., et al. New York: Greenwood Press, 1992. Doe Reference DP56.H57 1992 Read at Google Read at Google


A History of the Spanish Language through Texts / Christopher J. Pountain. London; New York: Routledge, 2001. Main Stacks PC4075 .P69 2001 & online via ebrary Read at Google Read at Google


Manual bibliografíco de estudios españoles / Fernando González Ollé. Pamplona: Ediciones Universidad de Navarra, 1976. Doe Reference DP17.A12G6 Read at Google Read at Google


Portugal in Africa: A Bibliography of the UCLA Collection / Gerald J. Bender et al.. Los Angeles, 1972. Main Stacks DT36.A12 C3 Anthropology DT1.C3 .O3 no.12


The Post-colonial Literature of Lusophone Africa / Patrick Chabal with Moema Parente Augel et al. Evanston, IL: Northwestern University Press, 1996. Main Stacks PQ9900 .P67 1996 Read at Google Read at Google


Spain: A Companion to Spanish Studies New ed. / edited by P. E. Russell. London: Methuen, 1973. Main Stacks DP48 .R871 1973


Spanish Women Writers: A Bio-bibliographical Source Book / edited by Linda Gould Levine et al. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1993. Doe Reference PQ6055.S63 1993 Main Stacks PQ6055.S63 1993 Read at Google Read at Google


*Teatro español (de la A a la Z) / Javier Huerta Calvo, Emilio Peral Vega, Héctor Urzáiz Tortajada. Pozuelo de Alarcón (Madrid): Espasa, c2005. Doe Reference PN2781 .H84 2005 Read at Google Read at Google


A Tentative Portuguese-African Bibliography: Portuguese Literature in Africa and African Literature in the Portuguese Language Portuguese Literature in Africa and African Literature in the Portuguese Language / by Gerald M. Moser. University Park, Pennsylvania State University Libraries, 1970. Main Stacks PQ9900.A59 M6 Library use only


Vanguardism in Latin American Literature: An Annotated Bibliographical Guide An Annotated Bibliographical Guide / compiled by Merlin H. Forster et al. New York: Greenwood Press, 1990. Doe Reference PQ7081.A12.F67 1990 Read at Google Read at Google


Women Writers of Spain: An Annotated Bio-Bibliographical Guide / Galerstein, Carolyn L., ed. New York: Greenwood Press, 1986. Doe Reference PQ6055.A12 W651 1986 Read at Google Read at Google

Book Reviews

Most library databases for this grouping index primarily US and UK publications. The online and print sources listed below are better for non-US reviews. MLA, Historical Abstracts, and Periodicals Index Online are also good article databases for locating discipline-specific reviews in Iberian studies as are specific journals like Hispanófila, Revista Iberoamericana, or Revista de Literatura.

Online

Print

Book Review Digest (1905-present)
Lists and selectively excerpts reviews from 90 popular journals in English.
Doe Reference Z1219 .B8

Some sources for reviews to peruse for publications from Spain and Portugal include:

Delibros. Madrid: Delibros, S.A.
Main Stacks Z2685 .D45 Library has 1990-

latest in Current Periodicals, Heyns Reading Room

I
nsula
. Madrid: 1(1946)-
NRLF
/Main Stacks f Z1007 .I568
latest in Current Periodicals, Heyns Reading Room

Letras Libres. Coyoacán, México: Editorial Vuelta, 1(1999)-
Main Stacks AP63 .L48
latest in Current Periodicals, Heyns Reading Room

O meus livros. Lisboa: FirstMedia, 1(2002)-
Main Stacks Z2715 .M48
latest in Current Periodicals, Heyns Reading Room

Qué leer. Barcelona: Qué leer día a día
Main Stacks Z1007 .Q45 Library has 34 (June 1999)-
latest in Current Periodicals, Heyns Reading Room

Revista de libros
. Madrid: Fundación Caja de Madrid.
Main Stacks Folio f Z1003.5.S63 R48 Library has 133(Jan 2008)-
latest in Current Periodicals, Heyns Reading Room

Library Databases

  • Book Review Digest Plus
    Indexes book reviews of English-language fiction and nonfiction books for children and adults, from over 8000 leading magazines from the United States, Canada, and Great Britain. Includes several thousand full text reviews. For book reviews published from 1905 to 1982 go to Book Review Digest Retrospective which can be searched separately or simultaneously.
  • Book Review Digest Retrospective: 1905-1982
    Some 1.5 million reviews of more than 300,000 books. For access to book reviews written since 1983, search Book Review Digest Plus which can be searched separately or simultaneously.
  • Book Review Index
    More than 5 million citations to book reviews from thousands of publications.
  • Google Scholar
    Lists journal articles, books, preprints, and technical reports in many subject areas (though more specialized article databases may cover any given field more completely). Some listings include links to related articles and to other sources that cite the item. Includes content from free resources (such as ArXiv.org and university websites) as well as subscription resources (such as electronic journals from selected publishers). Use the UC-eLinks option, when available, to find the UCB access to a publication.
  • Historical Abstracts
    Indexes over 2,000 journals, as well as historical book reviews and dissertations, published worldwide about all aspects of world history (excluding US and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Articles covered were written from 1954 to the present.
  • IBR Online - Internationale Bibliographie der Rezensionen
    Indexes over 830,000 book reviews with subject listings in German and English.
  • MLA International Bibliography
    Indexes journal articles, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings and other materials supporting critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Sponsored by the Modern Language Association.
  • Periodicals Index Online (formerly PCI)
    Indexes millions of articles published in over 4,700 periodicals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.

Dissertations and Theses

Find dissertations by searching Proquest Dissertations and Theses (PQDT), which indexes graduate dissertations from over 1,000 North American, and selected European, graduate schools and universities from 1861 to the present. Dissertations published since 1980 include brief abstracts written by the authors and some feature 24-page excerpts. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and some full text coverage for older graduate works.

Also see Find Dissertations and Theses for other specialized sources. Dissertations completed at UC Berkeley can be found in OskiCat, using the feature allowing you to limit to dissertations/theses:

Dissertations/Theses in Oskicat

Older dissertations not available full text may be obtained through Interlibrary Loan or using the "Request" option in Melvyl.

For more extensive indexing of doctoral dissertations and theses from Western Europe, here are a few other resources to consult:

Spanish and Portuguese Libraries and Catalogs

Catalogs and guides to books, periodicals, and other materials in not only libraries and archives in Spain and Portugal but also other important collections worldwide.

Online

Print and CD-ROM

Bibliografia brasileira do período colonial; catálogo comentado da obras dos autores nascidos no Brasil e publicadas antes de 1808. São Paulo: Instituto de Estudos Brasileiros, Universidade de São Paulo, 1969.
NRLF/
Main Stacks F2524.A12.M6

Bibliografía das obras impressas em Portugal no século XVI / por Antonio Joaquim. Lisboa: Oficinas Gráficas da Biblioteca Nacional, 1926.
NRLF/Main Stacks Z2712 .A5
Bancroft Reference Z2712 .A5

Bibliografía das obras impressas em Portugal no século XVII / João Frederico de Gusmão C. Arouca ; coordenação da edição, Manuela D. Domingos ; apresentação, Fernanda Maria Guedes de Campos. Lisboa: Biblioteca Nacional, 2001-
Main Stacks Z2712 .A76 2001 v.1-3 (A-R) Library use only

Bibliografía española. Monografias. Madrid: Ministerio de Cultura, Biblioteca Nacional, 1993-Continues Bibliografía española (1958-)
Doe Reference Z2685.B524 2006 (current vols. online)
Main Stacks Z2685 .B524 (1993-2006)

Bibliografia geral portuguesa. Lisboa: Impr. Nacional, 1941-
Main Stacks Z2711.A3 v.1-3 (1941-1983)

Catalogue of Books Printed in Spain and of Spanish Books Printed Elsewhere in Europe before 1601 Now in the British Library. 2nd ed. London: British Library, c1989.
Doe Reference Z2709.B8 1989
Main Stacks Z2682.B86 1989
Bancroft Reference Z2682.B86 1989

La imprenta en España: compilación de repertorios clásicos [electronic resource] / Amancio Labandeira, comp. Madrid: Fundación Historica Tavera; Digibis; Mapfre Mutualidad, c2000.
Doe Reference Z173.I45 1999 compu/d

La imprenta en Iberoamerica y Filipinas [electronic resource]. Madrid: Biblioteca Histórica; Chile, DIBAM, c1998.
Main Stacks Z1004.M4.I4 1998 compu/d

*Iberian Books: Books Published in Spanish or Portuguese or on the Iberian Peninsula before 1601 = Libros ibéricos: libros publicados en español o portugués o en la Península Ibérica antes de 1601 / edited by Alexander S. Wilkinson. Leiden; Boston: Brill, 2010.
Doe Reference Z173 .I24 2010

Portuguese and Brazilian Books in the John Carter Brown Library, 1537 to 1839: With a Selection of Braziliana Printed in Countries Other Than Portugal and Brazil. Providence, R. I: John Carter Brown Library, 2009.
Doe Reference Z881.P97 P67 2009

Spain and Spanish America in the Libraries of the University of California: A Catalogue of Books / University of California, Berkeley. Library. Berkeley: University of California, 1928-30.
Doe Reference Z2681.C3 v.1-2
Bancroft Z2681.C3 v.1-2
Chicano Studies Reference Z1402.Sp2  v.1-2

Spanish Drama of the Golden Age: A Catalogue of the Comedia Collection in the University of Pennsylvania Libraries / José Regueiro. M. New Haven: Research Publications, c1971.
Main Stacks PQ6217.A12.R4

Library Databases

  • Archive Finder (including ArchivesUSA and NIDS UK/Ireland)
    Directory which describes over 206,200 collections of primary source material housed in thousands of repositories across the United States, the United Kingdom and Ireland.
  • ArchiveGrid
    Searchable descriptions of nearly a million historical documents, personal papers, and family histories kept in libraries, museums, and archives worldwide.
  • Center for Research Libraries Online Catalog
    CRL acquires and preserves newspapers, journals, documents, archives, and other traditional and digital resources from a global network of sources. UC Berkeley Library students, faculty, and other researchers have liberal access to these rich source materials through interlibrary loan, electronic delivery, and a growing collection of digitized material.
  • Europeana
    Europeana the European digital library direct access to more than 15 million digital objects, including film material, photos, paintings, sounds, maps, manuscripts, books, newspapers and archival papers.
  • Index Translationum
    Lists more than a million books in translation in over 400 languages of UNESCO Member States, on all subjects, published since 1979.
  • Ulrich's Periodicals Directory
    Lists 250,000 serials published worldwide covering all subjects.
  • WorldCat on FirstSearch
    Combined catalog of over 1.5 billion books, journals, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, and other items in thousands of libraries worldwide. This is the original, subscription version of WorldCat - the world's largest network of library content and services. Also freely available at WorldCat.org or through Melvyl.

News Databases, Indexes and Web Sites

Listings (may include abstracts or full text) of articles in newspapers, newsmagazines, broadcast news transcripts or wire services. Also includes web sites of these media, or directories of such sites.

Online

Library Databases

  • ABYZ News Links
    A portal to online news sources from around the world. The database is primarily composed of links to online newspapers, but also includes many broadcast stations, internet services, magazines, and press agencies. ABYZ News Links does not contain actual news content but only links to other news sources.
  • Access World News
    Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources.
  • Center for Research Libraries Online Catalog
    CRL acquires and preserves newspapers, journals, documents, archives, and other traditional and digital resources from a global network of sources. UC Berkeley Library students, faculty, and other researchers have liberal access to these rich source materials through interlibrary loan, electronic delivery, and a growing collection of digitized material.
  • Europeana
    Europeana the European digital library direct access to more than 15 million digital objects, including film material, photos, paintings, sounds, maps, manuscripts, books, newspapers and archival papers.
  • Factiva
    Provides general and business news and information from more than 9,000 sources in 22 languages, including influential local, national and international newspapers, leading business magazines, trade publications, and news wires.
  • iCON Newspaper Database
    A database of more than 20,000 newspaper titles from over 150 countries dating back over 350 years. A useful source for identifying the titles of newspapers from a region during a given time period. (The source does not link to full text.)
  • LADB (Latin America Data Base)
    An online news service that provides access to three weekly electronic news bulletins about Mexico (SourceMex), Central America and the Caribbean including Cuba (NotiCen) and South America (NotiSur). LADB is also a searchable archive of over 24,000 articles.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Includes over 6,000 individual titles of international, national and local newspapers and wire services; radio and television transcripts; and business, medical, industry, and legislative magazines, journals, and newsletters.
  • OnlineNewspapers.com
    Links to the online editions of over 10,000 newspapers -- international in scope.
  • Portuguese Language News and Newspapers
    A list of freely available Portuguese-language newspapers and news magazines. Compiled by the MIT Libraries.
  • Selected Western European News and Newspapers
    Lists links to selected major online newspapers in Western Europe. Areas covered are: General European information, England, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Portugal, Scandinavia, Spain, and more.
  • Spanish Language News and Newspapers
    A list of freely available Spanish-language newspapers and news magazines. Compiled by the MIT Libraries.
  • Virtual Library of Historical Press
    Collection of 1500 historical Spanish-language newspapers. Most papers are from Spain but also includes some papers from Mexico and other parts Latin America. Interface available in English and Spanish.
Last Update: 07 Nov 14:55 | Tagged with: Spanish Portuguese Catalan Galician Basque Romance Languages Iberian Studies