Connecting from Off Campus
You can access UCB Library resources from off campus or via your laptop or other mobile device using one of two simple methods:
After you make a one-time change in your web browser settings, the proxy server will ask you to log in with a CalNet ID or Library PIN when you click on the link to a licensed resource. See the setup instructions, FAQ, and Troubleshooting pages to configure your browser.
Citation Management Tools
Citation management tools help you manage your research, collect and cite sources, and create bibliographies in a variety of citation styles. Each one has its strengths and weaknesses, but any are easier than doing it by hand!
- Zotero: A free plug-in that works exclusively with the Firefox browser: keeps copies of what you find on the web, permits tagging, notation, full text searching of your library of resources, works with Word, and has a free web backup service.
- RefWorks - free for UC Berkeley users. It allows you to create your own database by importing references and using them for footnotes and bibliographies. Use the RefWorks New User Form to sign up.
- EndNote: may be purchased from UC Berkeley's Software Central.
It's always good to double check the formatting -- sometimes the software doesn't get it quite right.
Electronic Resource Finder
The most important research section of the library web site is the Library Electronic Resource Finder. This is the library directory of databases and other information resources, organized by subject (e.g. political science) type (e.g. encyclopedias) as well as other categories. It also contains a link to a comprehensive listing of library e-journals.
Development Reference Books
Below are some sample reference books and encyclopedias that may be useful for background country information in development studies. For more titles, do a keyword search in Oskicat and limit your results to the Doe Reference section.
Call #: Doe Reference Reference Hall HD82 .E547 2005
Call #: Anthropology DS705 .C35 1991 Doe Reference DS705 .C35 1991 East Asian Reference DS705 .C35 1991
Call #: Main (Gardner) Stacks F1406 .C36 1992
Call #: Doe Reference Reference Hall DS63.1 .M484 2005 Moffitt DS63.1 .M484 2005
Call #: Main (Gardner) Stacks HD82 .H277 2010
Call #: Doe Reference DT1787 .C36 2010