The Library has many online English and foreign language dictionaries. Search the Electronic Resource Finder by Type: Dictionaries, Thesauri and Quotations or the relevant subject guides for more complete lists. Below is a selective list.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language. Entries contain detailed etymological analyses that trace word development through time and are illustrated by quotations from a wide range of English-language sources.
Includes Webster's Third New International Dictionary, Unabridged (1961) and subsequent updates.
Le Grand Robert electronique
Based on the 12th edition of Le Grand Robert de la langue francaise (2001), it is the most complete French dictionary.
Oxford Language Dictionaries Online (OLDO)
Bilingual dictionaries (English plus French, German, Italian and Spanish) published by Oxford University Press. Online versions of the following titles: Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary, Oxford-Duden German Dictionary, Oxford-Paravia Italian Dictionary, Oxford Spanish Dictionary.
Use these resources to find reviews of religious studies books.
ATLA Religion Database
1949-present. In Advanced Search, type "review" in a search box and choose "Publication Type" from the drop down menu.
Academic Search Complete
Arts and Humanities Citation Index (Web of Knowledge)
1975-present. Choose "Document Type" from one of the drop down menus, then choose "Book Review" from the list of options.
IBR Online - Internationale Bibliographie der Rezensionen
1985-present. English and German search interfaces.
Periodicals Index Online (formerly PCI)
Association of Religion Data Archives
Includes American and international surveys and data on religion. Includes data on religious adherents, religious freedoms, demographics, and other social measures as well as statistics on religious attitudes, behaviors, affiliations/identification.
In addition to those in the print reference collection in the Doe Reference Center, the Library has many online religious studies dictionaries and encyclopedias.
Oxford Reference Online - Religion
Access to 12 reference sources published by Oxford University Press. Search all sources collectively or search within an individual title.
Encyclopedia of American Religions
Covers more than 2,300 North American religious groups in the U.S. and Canada -- from Adventists to Zen Buddhists. Includes, when available, rubrics for membership figures, educational facilities and periodicals. (Online version of 7th edition, 2003.)
Digital Dictionary of Buddhism
A compilation of Buddhist terms, texts, temple, schools, persons, etc. found in Buddhist canonical sources
Encyclopedia of Islam
Based on the 10-volume print encyclopedia and covers the Islamic religion and the Islamic world in general, both current and historical, including Iran, Central Asia, the Indian subcontinent, Indonesia, the Ottoman Empire and other Islamic countries. Includes articles on political and religious institutions, history, topography, and distinguished Muslims both past and present.
Oxford Islamic Studies Online
Includes over 3000 entries related to all aspects of Islamic history, concepts, people, practices, politics, and culture. Also includes chapters from scholarly and introductory works, Qur'anic materials, primary sources, images, and timelines. Incorporates either in part or in full essential articles from the Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World, The Islamic World: Past and Present, The Oxford Dictionary of Islam, What Everyone Needs to Know about Islam, The Koran Interpreted, and The Concordance of the Qur'an.
Encyclopedia of the Quran
An encyclopedic dictionary of quranic terms, concepts, personalities, place names and cultural history. Includes nearly 1000 entries in 5 volumes.
The 1913 15-volume set of the Catholic Encyclopedia. Covers topics both religious and secular, from a Catholic perspective.
New Catholic Encyclopedia
Online version of the 15 volume, 2nd edition (2003). Features 12,000 entries on theology, philosophy, history, literary figures, saints, musicians and much more. Also available is the New Catholic Encyclopedia Supplement: The Wojtyla Years (2001)
Online version of the 22-volume Encyclopedia Judaica. Includes more than 21,000 entries on Jewish life, culture, history and religion, written by Israeli, American and European subject specialists.