For comprehensive lists of article databases, rhetoric students should use the Electronic Resource Finder and search by the broad Subject category (e.g. Law and Legal Studies) that most closely relates to their research interests. Below is a selective list of databases that are particularly useful for interdisciplinary topics related to rhetoric.
These databases index journal articles, chapters of books, (and sometimes) books, and book reviews. You can research a topic by searching for authors or subject terms relevant to your research. A few of these databases include the full text of the articles, but most of them use UC-eLinks to take you to the full-text of the article you are interested in. For articles not available online, UC-eLinks will search the Melvyl catalog for a print copy of the journal.
Interdisciplinary Databases for Rhetoric:
Humanities International Complete
Indexes thousands of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Subjects covered include archaeology, literature, religion, art, dance, theater, folklore, history, African-American studies, law, women's studies, and more.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index (Web of Knowledge)
Indexes over 1,000 of the leading arts and humanities journals, and provides searching of footnoted citations. Use the link above, then under Current Limits, specify Arts and Humanities Citation Index.
Indexes over 3,000 journals, books, dissertations, and other American and European sources covering the humanities, social sciences, and economics. Produced by the Institut de l'Information Scientifique et Technique, most records are in French, with about 33% in English.
Academic Search Complete
A multidisciplinary index to articles in more than 10,900 journals and other publications.
250 scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. Topics include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others.
Includes over 1000 scholarly journals with access to more than 2 million articles. JSTOR is an archive which means that current issues (generally the most recent 3-5 years) of the journals are not yet available.
Essay and General Literature Index Retrospective
Indexes essays found in over 5,300 volumes, annuals and serial publications from the United States, Great Britain, and Canada. Focuses on the humanities and social sciences, with coverage of economics, political science, history, and literary and film criticism.
Indexes journal articles, essays, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology as well as ethnology, archaeology, folklore, and material culture.
International Index to Performing Arts (IIPA)
Indexes over 200 scholarly and popular performing arts periodicals, documents, biographical profiles, conference papers, obituaries, interviews, discographies, and reviews.
Includes references to journal articles, books, book chapters, and book reviews published in some 550 journals.
MLA International Bibliography
Indexes journal articles, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings and other materials supporting critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Sponsored by the Modern Language Association.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Indexes books, journals, and dissertations within the field of political science and related to international relations, law and politics, political economy, public administration, and public policy.