Connecting from Off Campus?
You can access UCB Library resources from off campus or via your laptop or other mobile device using one of two simple methods:
After you make a one-time change in your web browser settings, the proxy server will ask you to log in with a CalNet ID or Library PIN when you click on the link to a licensed resource. See the setup instructions, FAQ, and Troubleshooting pages to configure your browser.
The Berkeley Library provides access to hundreds of databases, below are some that might be particularly helpful.
Academic Search Complete
A multidisciplinary index to articles in more than 11,000 journals, many include fulltext.
America: History and Life
Core resource for U.S history, also strong in some contemporary areas such as ethnic studies.
Core resource for world history (minus U.S. and Canada).
Core resource for sociology, as well as some article in anthropology, criminology, demography, law, social psychology, and urban development.(Search all CSA/Illumina Social Sciences databases.)
Business Source Complete
Full-text for several thousand scholarly business journals. Information in nearly every area of business and other sources of full text information such as country economic reports. For guidance on how to search, see Business Source Complete tutorial
Most comprehensive index to scholarly journal articles in economics, also indexes books and dissertations.
Core resource for newspapers from around the world and legal sources.
Index to public policy from a wide range of thinks tanks, Non-governmental organizations, international governmental organizations, and other institutions worldwide.
250 scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. Topics include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others.
Black Studies Center (BSC)
A mix of current and historic sources.
Political Science Databases
Core article databases for political science research are below.
CQ Electronic Library
A reference source on American politics and government that includes the following modules: CQ Congress Collection, CQ Political Handbook of the World, CQ Researcher Plus Archive, CQ Supreme Court, CQ Voting and Elections, CQ Washington Information Directory, CQ Weekly. Access individual modules or search across all CQ collections.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Indexes journals and dissertations within the broad field of political science.
Political Science: A SAGE Full-Text Collection
Full-text of 24 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back many years.
Particularly strong in government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, and research and conference reports. Public policy, politics, economics, and social issues worldwide.
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
Fulltext documents from research institutes worldwide related to international relations.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)
Indexes over 3000 journals, books, chapters, and book reviews in the fields of economics, political science, sociology, and anthropology from more than 100 countries.
National Journal Group's Policy Central
Indexes National Journal, The Hotline which tracks American politics and campaigns with coverage of each day's events, Congress Daily, Technology Daily, Almanac of American Politics, Poll Track and others to provide a comprehensive resource on politics and policy.
Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Knowledge)
Indexes over 1,700 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals, and provides searching of footnoted citations. Use the link above, then under Current Limits, specify Social Sciences Citation Index. For more guidance on using this database see the following tutorials: Creating Alerts and Creating an RSS Feed.
Once you've searched a database to find articles, you may need to use to link to a PDF or html file if the full text is not immediately available. Each database isa bit different, but a good rule of thumb is this: when you see the Uc-eLinks icon click on it to view your article access options, which can range from full text to a call number to an Interlibrary Loan request:
For more information, here's a tutorial on using UC-eLinks.