DVDs and Non Print Media
You can also find non-print media of all types in OskiCat; search by keywords, author, subject, title, etc. and pull down the "Entire Collection" menu to the type of resource you want (maps, films, etc.)
All Media Resources Center materials must be used on-site.
Finding Primary Sources
Primary sources can be found in a variety of library tools:
- Catalogs: OskiCat and Melvyl
- Online book and text collections
- Primary Source databases provided by the Library
- Vetted sites on the web:
Learn more about your topic in advance:
- names of relevant individuals and organizations
- dates of events
- what terminology was used at the time by participants and observers? (ex: negro or colored instead of african american)
Selected Databases for Primary Sources
Historical Newspapers (ProQuest)
Indexes articles from Chicago Defender (1905-1975), Chicago Tribune (1849-1986), Los Angeles Times (1881-1986), New York Times (1851-2004), San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922), Wall Street Journal (1889-1990), and Washington Post (1877-1991).
American Memory Motion Pictures Collections (Library of Congress)
A gateway to primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States. The site offers more than 7 million digital items from more than 100 historical collections. Includes a sampling of early American films, including works by the Edison Company, recordings of vaudeville and other popular entertainments, early animated films; recordings of early 20th Century presidents, and scenes of American work and leisure, 1894-1915.
American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library
Consists of more than 7 million digital items from more than 100 historical Library of Congress collections. The primary source and archival materials relating in the project cover topics from art and architecture to performing arts to technology and applied sciences.
Gateway to digitized images from the libraries and museums of 10 University of California campuses and more than 100 cultural heritage organizations in California. Includes more than 150,000 photographs, diaries, documents, oral histories and other resources. Serves as a single point of access for more than 300 UC-created websites and collections.
Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment
Includes prints, drawings, paintings, maps, bibliographies, letters, photographs, and original facsimile pages documenting the relationships among peoples and with the environment in North America. Focuses on personal accounts and providing unique perspectives from all the protagonists, including traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, Native Americans as well as a wide range of Europeans.
Everyday Life and Women in America
Providing access to primary source material from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History, Duke University and The New York Public Library. It comprises thousands of fully searchable images (alongside transcriptions) of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes.
Full-image reproductions of Harper's Weekly from its beginning in 1857 to 1912. Provides access to information about 19th and early 20th century advertising, illustrations, culture, history, literature, and notable figures.
New York Historical Society: Manuscript Collection Related to Slavery
The New York Historical Society has placed its fourteen most important manuscript collections relating to slavery online. The collection includes diaries, account books, letter books, ships' logs, indentures, bills of sale, personal papers, and records of institutions.
Readers' Guide Retrospective
Covers more than 500 leading American magazines and journals from 1890 to 1982.
Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives
Documents the key events, trends, and movements in 1960s America. Includes 70,000 pages of letters, diaries, and oral histories; more than 30,000 pages of posters, broadsides, pamphlets, advertisements, and rare audio and video materials. Enhanced by dozens of scholarly document projects, featuring annotated primary-source content that is analyzed and contextualized through interpretive essays by historians.
Slavery and Anti-Slavery
Includes more than 1.5 million pages, 7000+ books, 80+ serials, 15 manuscript collections as well as court records and reference materials documents related to the antebellum era. Published through partnerships with the Amistad Research Center, Oberlin College, Oxford University, & many other institutions
Other Ethnic Studies Departments in California
- African American Studies
African American Studies, UC Irvine
Center for African American Studies Library, UC Los Angeles
Guide to African American Studies, UC San Diego
- Asian American Studies
Asian American Studies, UC Irvine
Asian American Studies Center Reading Room, UC Los Angeles
Guide to Asian American Studies, UC San Diego
- Chicano Latino Studies
Chicano Studies Research Center, UC Los Angeles
Chicano-Latino Studies, UC Irvine
Coleccion Tloque Nahuaque, UC Santa Barbara
Guide to Hispanic American Studies, UC San Diego
- Multi-Ethnic / Multi-Area Studies
California Ethnic and Multicultural Archives, UC Santa Barbara
Ethnic Studies Publications, UC Los Angeles
Guide to North American Ethnicity and Culture, UC San Diego
Institute of American Cultures, UC Los Angeles
Resources in Area and Ethnic Studies, New School University
- Native American Studies
American Indian Studies Center Library, UC Los Angeles
Department of Native American Studies, UC Davis
Guide to Native American Studies, UC San Diego