French Studies

Research Tools for French Studies

Search the catalogs

Archival Collections and Primary Sources

Use these databases to find primary sources, such as manuscripts, diaries, letters, firsthand accounts, or historical documents on a subject, person, event or issue. See also the library guide Finding Primary Sources and List of Archival Collections on the Berkeley campus.

*Blue asterisk indicates that the resource was recently added to the guide.

Online

Print

*Guide des sources de l'histoire du féminisme: de la Révolution française à nos jours / sous la direction de Christine Bard et al. Rennes: Presses universitaires de Rennes, 2006.
Main Stacks HQ1613 .G85 2006 and updated version online through the Archives du féminisme.

Dictionnaire des journaux, 1600-1789 / sous la direction de Jean Sgard ; [comité de redaction, Jean-Daniel Candaux ... et al.]. Oxford: Voltaire Foundation; Paris: Universitas, 1991. Dictionnaire de la presse, 1600-1789 ; 1
Doe Reference PN5184.P4.D5 1991 v.1-2

France: Empire and Republic, 1850-1940; Historical Documents / selected and introduced by David Thomson. New York: Walker, 1968.
Main Stacks DC340 .T52 1968
Moffitt DC340 .T52 1968

The French Revolution and Human Rights: A Brief Documentary History / edited, translated, and with an introduction by Lynn Hunt. Boston: Bedford Books of St. Martin's Press, c1996.
Moffitt DC158.8.H862 1996

French Revolution Documents / J. M. Roberts and R. C. Cobb, eds. Oxford; Blackwell, 1966.
Main Stacks DC141.R39 v.1-2 (1966-1973)

Les gazettes européennes de langue française: répertoire / par Pierre Retat ; suivi d'une etude sur les fonds des gazettes anciennes a la Bibliothèque
nationale de France / par Jeanne-Marie Metivier, Laurent Portes, Pierre Retat.
Paris: Bibliothèque nationale de France, 2002.
Main Stacks PN5184.P4 R47 2002

Guide des sources de la Commune de Paris et du mouvement communaliste, 1864-1880: Paris et Ile de France / établi par l'Association des Amis de la Commune de Paris, 1871; avec le concours des services d'archives publics et le soutien de la Ville de Paris. Paris: Documentation française, c2007.
Main Stacks DC317.G85 2007

Répertoire des sources historiques du moyen âge / par Ulysse Chevalier. Paris, A. Picard, 1905-07.
Doe Reference D112.C53 v.1-2 (1903-07)
Main Stacks D112.C51 1877 v.1-3
Bancroft D112.C532 1975 Reference v.1-2 (reprint)

Library Databases

The complete list of databases is available through the Library's Electronic Resource Finder.

  • Archive Finder (including ArchivesUSA and NIDS UK/Ireland)
    Directory which describes over 206,200 collections of primary source material housed in thousands of repositories across the United States, the United Kingdom and Ireland.
  • ArchiveGrid
    Searchable descriptions of nearly a million historical documents, personal papers, and family histories kept in libraries, museums, and archives worldwide. Includes information on how to examine and order copies.
  • ARTstor
    A repository of more than 1 million digital images and associated catalog data. The collection is designed to be used by students and faculty for teaching and research in art history, as well as many other disciplines.
  • Digital Scriptorium
    An image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts. Among the participating institutions to this project are the Bancroft Library at UC Berkeley, Columbia University and the Union Theological Seminary.
  • Electronic Enlightenment
    Searchable and browseable database offering extensive access to the web of correspondence between the greatest thinkers and writers of the long eighteenth century and their families and friends, bankers and booksellers, patrons and publishers.
  • Europeana
    Europeana the European digital library provides direct access to more than 10 million digital objects, including film material, photos, paintings, sounds, maps, manuscripts, books, newspapers and archival papers.
  • Gallica
    The Bibliotheque Nationale de France's digital library provides free electronic access to one of the world's largest collections of digitized books, periodicals, documents, manuscripts, images and audio-visual resources. One can browse (Decouverte), search (Recherche), or explore thematic groupings of materials (Dossiers).
  • Repositories of Primary Sources
    Lists over 5000 websites describing the holdings of archives and manuscript, rare books, historical photograph and other primary source collections.
  • Visual Collections: Images of Art, History and Culture
    Includes more than 30,000 images from some 35 image collections from museums, universities and private collections throughout the world in the areas of cartography, fine arts, architecture, and photography.

Article Indexes and Databases

Listed below is a broad selection of article indexes recommended for research in French Studies. For additional resources, please consult the Library's Electronic Resource Finder.

Online

Print

Bibliographie historique et critique de la presse périodique
française
... / par Louis Eugène Hatin. Paris: Firmin-Didot frères, fils et cie, 1866.
Doe Reference AP1.36.F8.H3
Bancroft Reference Z6956.F8 H2
Online via HathiTrust 

Bibliographie des révues et journaux littéraires des XIXe et XXe siècles / par Jean-Michel Place et André Vasseur. Paris: Editions de la Chronique des lettres françaises, 1973.
Main Stacks PQ281.A12.P4 v.1-3:1 (1973-1974)

French Literary Journals: A Selected Annotated Guide / by Anna Danuta Kaczynska Berkeley: University of California, Library, 1977.
Doe Reference PQ100.A12.K3
NRLF/Main Stacks PQ100.A12.K3

Repère. Edition abrégée. Montréal: Services documentaires multimedia: Bibliothèque nationale du Québec, 1994-  "Index analytique d'articles de periodiques de langue française" which continues Periodex, Radar and Périodex.
Doe Reference AJ7.I512 Periodical Indexes Latest 5 years
Main Stacks AJ7.I512

Revue d'histoire littéraire de la France. Paris: A. Colin, [1894-]
Continued in part by: Bibliographie de la littérature française (XVIe-XXe siècle).
Main Stacks PQ2.R51
Current issues in Heyns Reading Room and via CAIRN
BOUND 1(1894)-107(2007); later issues unbound.
CUMULATIVE INDEXES: 1(1894)-46(1939)

Les revues littéraires belges de langue française de 1830 à nos jours / Paul Aron, Pierre-Yves Soucy. Ed. rev., corr. et augm. par les auteurs... Vanleemputten. Bruxelles: Labor, 1998.
Main Stacks Z2405.A76 1998

Library Databases

  • MLA International Bibliography
    Indexes journal articles, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings and other materials supporting critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Sponsored by the Modern Language Association.
  • Arts and Humanities Citation Index (Web of Knowledge)
    Indexes over 1,000 of the leading arts and humanities journals, and provides searching of footnoted citations.
  • Cairn
    Offers the most comprehensive collection of French and Belgian journals in the humanities and social sciences available online.
  • Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
    Covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.
  • FRANCIS
    Indexes over 3,000 journals, books, dissertations, and other American and European sources covering the humanities, social sciences, and economics.
  • Historical Abstracts
    Indexes over 2,000 journals, as well as historical book reviews and dissertations, published worldwide about all aspects of world history (excluding US and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Articles covered were written from 1954 to the present.
  • Humanities International Complete
    Indexes thousands of journals, books and other published sources from around the world, with full text of over 770 journals.
  • IBZ - Internationale Bibliographie der Zeitschriftenliteratur
    Indexes over 5600 journals worldwide, specializing in the humanities and the social sciences.
  • International Medieval Bibliography (IMB)
    Indexes over 4500 periodicals and 5000 conference proceedings, essay collections, Festschriften, edited volumes, conference proceedings, and exhibition catalogues covering all aspects of the middle ages (400-1500 A.D.) in Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa.
  • ITER: Gateway to the Renaissance
    Indexes over 300 journal titles to create a bibliography of articles, essays, books and reviews related to the Middle Ages and the Renaissance (400-1700). Includes a number of databases useful to the fields of classical, medieval, and Renaissance studies such as Iter Italicum, a catalog of Renaissance humanistic manuscripts found in libraries and collections around the world.
  • Literature Resource Center (LRC)
    Indexes biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers by providing access to content of numerous print counterparts including Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and Dictionary of Literary Biography.
  • Periodicals Index Online (formerly PCI)
    Indexes millions of articles published in over 4,700 periodicals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. A sister database, Periodicals Archive Online, provides a full-text archive of some 475 journals published between 1802 and 1995.
  • Persee: portail des revues scientifiques en sciences humaines et sociales
    Open access portal to back issues for scholarly journals in the Sciences, Social Sciences, and Humanities.
  • Revues.org
    A freely available portal to over 100 French language journals in the humanities and social sciences.

Bibliographies and Subject Guides

Selected lists of materials in any format organized around a common theme or topic.

Library Databases

Online

Print


Les années littéraires en Afrique: 1912-1987 / Pius Ngandu Nkashama. Paris: L'Harmattan, c1993. Main Stacks PQ3981.A12.P58 1993


Belgian cinema = Le cinéma belge = De Belgische film / research and coordination, Marianne Thys. Brussels: Royal Belgian Film Archive; Ghent: Ludion; Paris: Flammarion], c1999. Main Stacks PN1993.5.B4.B46 1999 Read at Google Read at Google


Bibliographie annuelle de l'histoire de France du cinquième siècle à 1958. Paris: Éditions du Centre national de la recherche scientifique, 1975- Doe Reference DC6.C65 (continuation of Bibliographie annuelle de l'histoire de France du cinquième siècle à 1939/1945 (1953-1975))


Bibliographie de l'histoire médiévale en France (1965-1990) / Société des historiens médiévistes de l'enseignement supérieur ; textes réunis par Michel Balard. Doe Reference DC61.A12 B35 1992


A Critical Bibliography of French Literature / D.C. Cabeen, ed. Syracuse, NY: Syracuse University Press, 1947-1994. Doe Reference PQ47.5.C3 v.1-6 (1947-1994)


Dictionnaire de la France coloniale / sous la direction de Jean-Pierre Rioux; ouvrage edité avec le concours du Centre ... Paris: Flammarion, 2007. Main Stacks JV1811.D53 2007 Read at Google Read at Google


Dictionnaire de la politique française / Henry Coston. Paris: Publications Henry Coston, c2000. Main Stacks DC55.C72 2000


Dictionnaire des littératures de langue française / Jean-Pierre de Beaumarchais, Daniel Couty. [Nouv. ed.] Paris: Bordas, c1994. Doe Reference PQ41.D533 1994 v.1-4 Read at Google Read at Google


Dictionnaire des oeuvres littéraires de langue française / Jean-Pierre de Beaumarchais, Daniel Couty. Paris: Bordas, c1994. Doe Reference PQ41.D533 1994 v.1-4 Main Stacks PQ41.D533 1994 v.1-4 Read at Google Read at Google


Dictionnaire du cinéma populaire français: des origines à nos jours / sous la direction de Yannick Dehée et Christian-Marc Bosséno. 2. éd. Paris: Nouveau Monde éditions, 2009. Doe Reference PN1998.2.D53 2009 Read at Google Read at Google


Dictionnaire du Second Empire / sous la direction de Jean Tulard. Paris: Fayard, c1995. Doe Reference DC276.D53 1995


Bibliographie des auteurs africains de langue française / Therese Baratte-Eno-Belinga, Jacqueline Chauveau-Rabut, Mukala Kadima-Nzuji. Paris: F. Nathan, 1979 Main Stacks PQ3980.A12.B352 1979


Bibliographie des écrivains français de Belgique, 1881-1950 / Jean-Marie Culot. Bruxelles: Academie royale de langue et de litterature francaises de Belgique, 1958-1988. NRLF/Main Stacks Z2411.C8 v.1-5 (A-Q)


*The Cambridge History of French Literature / edited by William Burgwinkle, Nicholas Hammond and Emma Wilson. Cambridge, UK; New York: Cambridge University Press, 2011. Doe Reference PQ103 .C26 2011 Read at Google Read at Google


Dictionnaire des auteurs de langue française en Amerique du Nord / Reginald Hamel, John Hare, eds. Montreal: Fides, 1989. Doe Reference PQ3897.A12.H36 1989 & online Read at Google Read at Google


Dictionnaire des auteurs Maghrébins de langue française / Jean Dejeux. Paris: Karthala, 1984. Main Stacks PQ3988.N6.D38 1984


Dictionnaire de la colonisation française / sous la direction de Claude Liauzu; en collaboration avec le comité scientifique composé de Hélène d'Almeida-Topor ... Paris: Larousse, 2007. Doe Reference JV1807 .D53 2007 Read at Google Read at Google


Dictionnaire des oeuvres littéraires africaines de langue française / Pius Ngandu Nkashama. Ivry-sur-Seine: Editions nouvelles du sud, c1994. Main Stacks PQ3980.A52.P58 1994


Dictionnaire des oeuvres littéraires negro-africaines de langue française, des origines à 1978 / Ambroise Kom. Sherbrooke, Québec: Naaman; Paris: Agence de Cooperation Culturelle et Technique, 1983. Doe Reference PQ3980.D5


Dictionnaire des oeuvres littéraires du Québec / Maurice Lemire, ed. Montréal: Fides, c1978-2003. Main Stacks PQ3901.D5 v.1-7


Dictionnaire littéraire des femmes de langue française : de Marie de France à Marie NDiaye / Christiane P. Makward et Madeleine Cottenet-Hage ; avec la collaboration de Mary-Helen Becker, Erica Eisinger et al. Paris: Karthala, 1996. Doe Reference PQ149 .M35 1996


Ecritures littéraires: dictionnaire critique des oeuvres africaines de langue française / Pius Ngandu Nkashama. New Orleans: Presses universitaires du Nouveau Monde, c2002. Doe Reference PQ3980.A52.P583 2002 v.1-2


The Era of the French Revolution: A Bibliography of the History of Western Civilization, 1789-1799 / Ronald J. Caldwell. New York: Garland Pub., 1985. Doe Reference DC148.A12 C34 1985 v.1-2


The Feminist Encyclopedia of French Literature / Eva Martin Sartori, editor-in-chief. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1999. Doe Reference PQ149.F47 1999 & via ebrary Read at Google Read at Google


France: d'un siècle a l'autre: 1914-2000: dictionnaire critique / Jean-Pierre Rioux, Jean-Francois Sirinelli ; avec Maurice Agulhon et al. Paris: Hachette Littératures, c1999. Main Stacks DC33.7.R56 1999


French 17: An annual descriptive bibliography of French seventeenth century studies / Fort Collins, Colo., Published for Seventeenth Century French Division of Modern Language Association of America by Colorado State University. Doe Reference PQ241.A12 M63 54(2006)-56(2008)- , Main Stacks PQ241.A12 M63 26(1978)-53(2005)-, and online.


Guide to French Literature / Anthony Levi. Chicago: St. James Press, 1992-1994. Doe Reference Hall PQ41.L48 1992 v.1-2 Moffitt Refe PQ41.L48 1992 v.1-2


Histoire de la littérature en Suisse romande / Roger Francillon, eds. Lausanne, Switzerland : Payot, 1996. Main Stacks PQ3871.H57 1996 v.1-4


*Historical Dictionary of French Theater / Edward Forman. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 2010. Doe Reference PN2637 .F67 2010 Read at Google Read at Google


Lettres françaises de Belgique: dictionnaire des oeuvres / Robert Frickx and Raymond Trousson, eds. Paris-Gembloux: Duculot, 1988-1994. Doe Reference PQ3814.L47 1988


Negritude: An Annotated Bibliography / by Colette V. Michael. West Cornwall, CT: Locust Hill Press, 1988. Doe Reference PN56.N36.M5 1988 Moffitt PN56.N36.M5 1988

Book Reviews

Most library databases for this grouping index primarily US and UK publications. The print and online tools listed below are better for non-US reviews. MLA, Cairn, Historical Abstracts, and Periodicals Index Online are also good article databases for locating discipline-specific reviews in French or Francophone studies as are specific journals like The French Review or French Studies.

Online

Print  

Book Review Digest (1905-present)
Lists and selectively excerpts reviews from 90 popular journals in English.
Doe Reference Z1219 .B8 & online with Book Reviews Digest Plus and Book Reviews Digest Retrospective.

Some sources to peruse for new French publications include:

Critique. Paris: Éditions de Minuit, 1945-
Main Stackss Z1007 .C8 latest in Current Periodicals, Heyns Reading Room

Lire. Paris: Lire Magazine, 1975-
Main Stackss Z2174.B6 L57 latest in Current Periodicals, Heyns Reading Room

Livres de France. Paris: Éditions professionelles du livre, 1979-
Main Stacks Z2161 .L73 latest in Current Periodicals, Heyns Reading Room

La Quinzaine littéraire. Paris, 1971-
Main Stacks Folio f AP20 .Q53
latest in Current Periodicals, Heyns Reading Room

Library Databases

  • Book Review Digest Plus
    Indexes book reviews of English-language fiction and nonfiction books for children and adults, from over 8000 leading magazines from the United States, Canada, and Great Britain. Includes several thousand full text reviews. For book reviews published from 1905 to 1982 go to Book Review Digest Retrospective which can be searched separately or simultaneously.
  • Book Review Digest Retrospective: 1905-1982
    Some 1.5 million reviews of more than 300,000 books. For access to book reviews written since 1983, search Book Review Digest Plus which can be searched separately or simultaneously.
  • Book Review Index
    More than 5 million citations to book reviews from thousands of publications.
  • Cairn
    Offers the most comprehensive collection of French and Belgian journals in the humanities and social sciences available online.
  • Google Scholar
    Lists journal articles, books, preprints, book reviews, and technical reports in many subject areas (though more specialized article databases may cover any given field more completely). Some listings include links to related articles and to other sources that cite the item. Includes content from free resources (such as ArXiv.org and university websites) as well as subscription resources (such as electronic journals from selected publishers). Use the UC-eLinks option, when available, to find the UCB access to a publication.
  • Historical Abstracts
    Indexes over 2,000 journals, as well as historical book reviews and dissertations, published worldwide about all aspects of world history (excluding US and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Articles covered were written from 1954 to the present
  • IBR Online - Internationale Bibliographie der Rezensionen
    Indexes over 830,000 book reviews with subject listings in German and English.
  • MLA International Bibliography
    Indexes journal articles, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings and other materials supporting critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Sponsored by the Modern Language Association.
  • Periodicals Index Online (formerly PCI)
    Indexes millions of articles published in over 4,700 periodicals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
  • Project MUSE
    250 scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. Topics include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others.

Dissertations and Theses

Find dissertations by searching Proquest Dissertations and Theses (PQDT), which indexes graduate dissertations from over 1,000 North American, and selected European, graduate schools and universities from 1861 to the present. Dissertations published since 1980 include brief abstracts written by the authors and some feature 24-page excerpts. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and some full text coverage for older graduate works.

Also see Find Dissertations and Theses for other specialized sources. Dissertations completed at UC Berkeley can be found in OskiCat, using the feature allowing you to limit to dissertations/theses:

Dissertations/Theses in Oskicat

Older dissertations not available full text may be obtained through Interlibrary Loan or using the "Request" option in Melvyl.

For more extensive indexing of doctoral dissertations and theses from Western Europe, here are a few other resources to consult:

French Libraries and Catalogs

Catalogs and guides to books, periodicals, and other materials in not only French libraries and archives but also other important collections worldwide.

Online Resources

  • *Calames - online catalogue of archives and manuscripts in French university and research libraires

Print

Catalogue des incunables / Bibliothèque nationale. Paris: Bibliothèque nationale, 1981.
Main Stacks Z240.F718 1981
Library has:  BOUND t.1-t.2, fasc. 1-4 (A-B,H-Z); (1981-1996) ; unbd. t.1, fasc. 3 (C-D) (2006)
Bancroft Reference Z240.F718 1981

French Vernacula Books: Books Published in the French Language Before 1601: Livres vernaculaires français: livres imprimés en français avant 1601 / edited by Andrew Pettegree, Malcolm Walsby, Alexander Wilkinson. Leiden: Brill, 2007.
Bancroft Reference Z2162 .F74 2007 v.1-2

A Short Title Catalogue of French Books, 1601-1700, in the Library of the British Museum< by V. F. Goldsmith. Folkestone [England]: Dawsons, 1969-73.
Doe Referencerence Z2162.B87
Bancroft Reference Z2162.B87

Library Databases

  • Archive Finder (including ArchivesUSA and NIDS UK/Ireland)
    Directory which describes over 206,200 collections of primary source material housed in thousands of repositories across the United States, the United Kingdom and Ireland.
  • ArchiveGrid
    Searchable descriptions of nearly a million historical documents, personal papers, and family histories kept in libraries, museums, and archives worldwide.
  • Center for Research Libraries Online Catalog
    CRL acquires and preserves newspapers, journals, documents, archives, and other traditional and digital resources from a global network of sources. UC Berkeley Library students, faculty, and other researchers have liberal access to these rich source materials through interlibrary loan, electronic delivery, and a growing collection of digitized material.
  • Europeana
    Europeana the European digital library direct access to more than 15 million digital objects, including film material, photos, paintings, sounds, maps, manuscripts, books, newspapers and archival papers.
  • Gallica
    The Bibliotheque Nationale de France's digital library provides free electronic access to one of the world's largest collections of digitized books, periodicals, documents, manuscripts, images and audio-visual resources.
  • Index Translationum
    Lists more than a million books in translation in over 400 languages of UNESCO Member States, on all subjects, published since 1979.
  • Ulrich's Periodicals Directory
    Lists 250,000 serials published worldwide covering all subjects.
  • WorldCat on FirstSearch
    Combined catalog of over 1.5 billion books, journals, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, and other items in thousands of libraries worldwide. This is the original, subscription version of WorldCat - the world's largest network of library content and services. Also freely available at WorldCat.org or through Melvyl.

News Databases, Indexes and Web Sites

Listings (may include abstracts or full text) of articles in newspapers, newsmagazines, broadcast news transcripts or wire services. Also includes web sites of these media, or directories of such sites.

Online

Library Databases

  • Access World News
    Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources.
  • Center for Research Libraries Online Catalog
    CRL acquires and preserves newspapers, journals, documents, archives, and other traditional and digital resources from a global network of sources. UC Berkeley Library students, faculty, and other researchers have liberal access to these rich source materials through interlibrary loan, electronic delivery, and a growing collection of digitized material.
  • Europeana
    Europeana the European digital library direct access to more than 15 million digital objects, including film material, photos, paintings, sounds, maps, manuscripts, books, newspapers and archival papers.
  • Factiva
    Provides general and business news and information from more than 9,000 sources in 22 languages, including influential local, national and international newspapers, leading business magazines, trade publications, and news wires.
  • French Language News and Newspapers
    A list of freely available French-language newspapers and news magazines. Compiled by the MIT Libraries.
  • iCON Newspaper Database
    A database of more than 20,000 newspaper titles from over 150 countries dating back over 350 years. A useful source for identifying the titles of newspapers from a region during a given time period. (The source does not link to full text.)
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Includes over 6,000 individual titles of international, national and local newspapers and wire services; radio and television transcripts; and business, medical, industry, and legislative magazines, journals, and newsletters.
  • Le Monde diplomatique (historical archive)
    Fully searchable archive of all articles published in the original French edition back to the first issue in 1954 and back to 1996 for the English edition. 3-month moving wall limits access to current content. However, the Library maintains a print subscription which can be found in Newspaper/Microforms, 40 Doe Library.
  • OnlineNewspapers.com
    Links to the online editions of over 10,000 newspapers -- international in scope.
  • Selected Western European News and Newspapers
    Lists links to selected major online newspapers in Western Europe. Areas covered are: General European information, England, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Portugal, Scandinavia, Spain, and more.
Last Update: 30 Sep 16:58 | Tagged with: Romance Languages Francophone Studies french french studies