Find Books and E-Books
UCB: Use OskiCat to find books related to your topic at UC Berkeley. Oskicat will show you where it's located, and will also show you the Library of Congress Subject Heading -- which can help you find material other relevant books.
UC: Not enough books at Berkeley? Use Melvyl to find more books at other campuses in the UC system. Clickon the REQUEST button (in the detailed view of a catalog record) to request the item through Interlibrary Loan.
World: Still want more? You can search thousands of libraries through WorldCat on FirstSearch and then request the material through UC e-links or directly via Interlibrary Loan.
Google Books: Library catalogs don't search inside of books. Google Books can help you identify the book you need, then click on "Find in a Library" to see if we have it.
E-Books
Some of the e-books below are listed individually in the library catalog, but not all. Going directly to the e-book collection is also useful if you want to search inside the book, since the library catalog doesn't (yet) make that possible.
Springer Electronic Book Package E-books in many fields including Social Work and Behavioral Science.
APA e-book collection Current e-books published by the American Psychological Association from 2009 to date.
ebrary Berkeley's largest e-book collection, with 40,000 titles on a wide range of subjects, including social work, education and psychology. Some advanced ebrary features require downloading reader software.
PsychiatryOnline Contains the DSM-IV-TR (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders)
Wiley Online Library Ebook Collection Fulltext books in social welfare and psychology from 2011.
MIT CogNet E-books in cognitive and brain sciences published by MIT.
Find Articles
We have hundreds of research databases which help you find articles (and more) on a wide variety of topics. They are organized according to academic discipline, by name, or by type of database (dissertations, e-books, etc.)
Core resources for Social Welfare:
-
Social Services Abstracts
Indexes journals in social work, human services, and social policy. (Search all CSA/Illumina Social Sciences databases.)
-
PsycINFO
Core database in psychology, also includes social work. (Search all CSA/Illumina Social Sciences databases.)
-
Social Work Abstracts
Indexes hundreds of journals related to social work on a wide range of topics.
-
Sociological Abstracts
Core database in sociology, many overlaps with social welfare.(Search all CSA/Illumina Social Sciences databases.)
-
PubMed
Access to citations from MEDLINE and other journals in the field of medicine -- includes psychiatry, geriatrics, public health,etc.
-
ERIC
Interested in Social Work in the schools, or the overlap with Education? ERIC is a key source for education research and practice. (Search all CSA/Illumina Social Sciences databases.)
-
Academic Search Complete
Social Work research is often interdisciplinary, and this can be a good place to search. Includes many fulltext articles.
-
Family and Society Studies Worldwide
International social science research about the family and society.
UC eLinks and Citation Linker
Sometimes the database you search doesn't link to the fulltext -- it only gives the citation. Click the
button to see if Berkeley has it online, and if not, it will check for a print version. And if we don't have it at all, it lets you request it through Interlibrary Loan.
What if there isn't a
button??? Sometimes you find an article in a bibliography, a book or a footnote -- and you want to see if we have it. The Citation Linker searches through our online databases to see if it's available fulltext. If not, it sets up a search for the paper journal in Melvyl. And if we don't have it at Berkeley, it lets you request it through Interlibrary Loan.

