[Videolib] recommended websites to purchase PPR

From: Jackson, Sandra F. <Jacksonsf@uncw.edu>
Date: Mon Jul 13 2009 - 14:36:01 PDT

Hello, everyone.

I operate Lumina Theater, UNCW's primary film venue (360 seats, 16 x 30 screen, 35mm/Blu-Ray/DVD capabilities). When campus programmers wish show a film for the first time, I must instruct them how to purchase PPR from film distributors. On the Lumina Theater website, I have updated my list of film distributors who offer PPR. I have attached my list below, in case anyone would strongly recommend any other vendors I have not already included.

Thanks for your assistance.
Sandra

DISTRIBUTORS FOR PROGRAMMERS
Alive Mind
<http://www.alivemindmedia.com/>Bullfrog Films
<http://www.bullfrogfilms.com/>California News Reel <http://newsreel.org/>
Canyon Cinema
<http://www.canyoncinema.com/>Cinema Guild
<http://www.cinemaguild.com/>Cinema Purgatorio <http://www.cinemapurgatorio.com/>
Criterion, USA
<http://www.criterionpicusa.com/>Documentary Education Resources<http://www.der.org/>
Film-Makers' Cooperative
<http://www.film-makerscoop.com/%20>Filmmakers Library
<http://www.filmakers.com>Film Movement<http://www.filmmovement.com/>
First Run Features<http://www.firstrunfeatures.com/>
Icarus Films<http://www.frif.com/>
IFC Films<http://www.ifcfilms.com/>
Kino International
<http://www.kino.com/>Lewis Williams Agency (Geo Cinema Films/Lectures)<http://www.lewiswilliamsagency.com/>Lorber Films<http://www.lorberfilms.com/>
Magnolia Pictures<http://www.magpictures.com/>
Milestone Films
<http://www.milestonefilms.com/>Musicbox Films<http://www.musicboxfilms.com/>
Swank Motion Pictures<http://www.swank.com/>
Palm Pictures
<http://www.palmpictures.com/>PBS Educational Media
<http://teacher.shop.pbs.org/helpdesk/index.jsp?display=shopping&subdisplay=avOrders>Rialto Pictures
<http://www.rialtopictures.com/in_theaters.html>Sony Pictures Classics<http://www.sonyclassics.com/index.php>
Sony Pictures Repertory
<http://www.sonypicturesrepertory.com/%20>Thinkfilm
<http://www.thinkfilmcompany.com/>Universal Pictures<http://www.universalpictures.com/>
Women Make Movies
<http://www.wmm.com/>Zeitgeist Films<http://www.zeitgeistfilms.com/>

Lumina Theater Film Resources http://www.uncw.edu/stuaff/presents/filmresources.htm

Sandra F. Jackson
Film Program Coordinator
Lumina Theater & Sharky's Box Office
UNCW Presents
The University of North Carolina Wilmington
910.962.7971
jacksonsf@uncw.edu
http://www.uncw.edu/lumina

VIDEOLIB is intended to encourage the broad and lively discussion of issues relating to the selection, evaluation, acquisition,bibliographic control, preservation, and use of current and evolving video formats in libraries and related institutions. It is hoped that the list will serve as an effective working tool for video librarians, as well as a channel of communication between libraries,educational institutions, and video producers and distributors.
Received on Mon Jul 13 14:36:52 2009

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.8 : Tue Oct 20 2009 - 15:15:17 PDT