Re: AV fines

Linda Harris (
Thu, 22 Feb 2001 08:09:24 -0800 (PST)

We charge $1.00 per day per item with a max. of $12.00. After 12 days the
item goes to lost and the patron is charged replacement cost plus a $14.00
processing fee plus the $12.00 max late fee. When the item is returned the
replacement cost is waived but the patron still owes $26.00. Faculty are
not charged late fees and all charges are waived when a "lost" item is

At 10:51 AM 2/21/01 -0800, you wrote:
>Hi All!!
> I know that this concern circulated on this list last summer but I
>need to see what policies, regarding late videocassette returns by
>students, are in place in other academic libraries.
> As it stands now, we charge $1.00 per day per title (no grace
>period) with no ceiling on the fine. There is some concern that this
>may be a bit harsh and a ceiling on AV fines is in order. Any
>Barbara A. Voss
>Audiovisual Services Specialist
>Pennsylvania College of Technology
>One College Avenue
>Williamsport PA 17701
>Phone: 570 320-2400 1-7774
>FAX: 570 327-4503

Media Circulation Coordinator Phone: (406) 243-2859
Mansfield Library FAX: (406) 243-4067
Media & Music Resources E-mail:
32 Campus Drive # 9936 E-mail rental orders to:
University of Montana
Missoula MT 59812-9936