Executive Committee Minutes 05/03/2012

LAUC-B Executive Committee 

May 3, 2012 
10 am 12 pm
Room 119 Moses Hall (IGS Harris Room)

Members present:Lillian Castillo-Speed, Susan Edwards, Dana Jemison, Susan Koskinen, Jeffery Loo (recorder), Jennifer Nelson, Nick Robinson (chair), Kai Stoeckenius, Susan Xue

Guests: James Eason, Manuel Erviti, Rita Evans, Julie Lefevre

I. Announcements

  • A reminder of the June 1, 2012, deadline for the Distinguished Librarian Award 2012 nominations. Details at http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/LAUC/dla/guidelines.html.
  • A reminder to send your questions for the panel discussion Library Leaders' Perspectives on Professional Development to be held on June 4th, from 9:00-11:00 am, at The Magnes Collection of Jewish Art and Life in downtown Berkeley. Please send your questions to Hilary Schiraldi or Dana Jemison by Friday, May 18, 2012.

II. Reports

A. Treasurer's Report (S. Xue)

  • The current LAUC-B budget balance is $87,969.31.

B. Meeting with the University Librarian(N. Robinson)

  • No meeting since the last LAUC-B Executive Committee meeting.

C. Committee on the Library, Berkeley Division of the Academic Senate (N. Robinson)

  • No meeting since the last LAUC-B Executive Committee meeting.

D. LAUC Statewide Conference Call (N. Robinson)

  • No meeting since the last LAUC-B Executive Committee meeting.

III. Continuing Business

A. LAUC-B Conference Planning Committee (N. Robinson)

  • The LAUC-B Executive Committee appointed the Conference Planning Committee of 2013 and thank its members for volunteering:
    • Jean Dickinson
    • Ellen Gilmore
    • Cody Hennesy
    • Dana Jemison
    • Jennifer Nelson (Co-chair)
    • Margo Padilla
    • Mario Ramirez
    • Jim Ronningen
    • Michael Sholinbeck
    • Kai Stoeckenius
    • Chris Tarr (Co-chair)

B. LAUC Assembly (N. Robinson)

  • The LAUC-B Executive Committee delegates attending the LAUC Statewide Assembly of May 10, 2012, at the UCSC Extension Silicon Valley in Santa Clara, are Nick Robinson, Jennifer Nelson, Susan Edwards, and Jeffery Loo.
  • The agenda and further details are available at http://library.ucsc.edu/lauc-assembly-agenda

C. Planning for LAUC-B comment on the Re-envisioning the Library Initiative (N. Robinson)

D. Retention Survey Task Force (S. Edwards)

  • Nick thanked the Survey Task force for conducting the survey and its analysis.
  • The raw survey results were distributed in Susan Edwards email with the subject line LAUCB Retention Survey Results on Wed, April 4, 2012, 4:36 PM.
  • The Executive Committee reviewed the draft final report of the survey and discussed further analyses that could be conducted. The final report will be distributed soon. The frequency of future LAUC-B retention surveys was also discussed.

IV. New Business

A. LAUC Election (J. Eason)

  • James Eason, Manuel Erviti, and Julie Lefevre reported on the plans and progress for the upcoming LAUC election.
  • The LAUC elections at Berkeley will be open May 14 to June 1 and will be conducted online via SurveyMonkey.
  • There was discussion of potential modifications to the LAUC-B nominations process. No changes were recommended.

B. ITS Library update (R. Evans)

  • The Institute of Transportation Studies Library is primarily funded by the California Department of Transportation.
  • Due to state budget cuts, there will be reductions in staff, collections, and services at the ITS Library.
  • The librarys three LAs will be laid off at the end of June. About 20% of the collection has been withdrawn, and more than half of the remaining collection is now in the ITSL Annex, 410 OBrien Hall.
  • The library will be closed for most of June and July while offices for researchers are constructed.
  • The Institutes director wants the two remaining librarians to work more closely with institute researchers and transportation engineering faculty and to explore new roles such as data management.