Kresge Engineering Library
University of California, Berkeley
Ask Us
Off-campus access to licensed library resources such as journal articles and databases requires changes in your browser's settings that allow you to connect through a proxy server.
» Instructions on setting up access
Return to top
These specialized encyclopedias are excellent places to find an overview of a topic, as well as references to articles.
Return to top
Current Melvyl is the catalog for all ten UC campus libraries. Use it to find books on your topic. The records will tell you the call number and the location (library) for each book. Start with a title keywords search, then use subject headings for additional searching.
» A Brief Guide to Melvyl
Return to top
The library has several large databases of full-text electronic books (ebooks). They include handbooks, manuals, and textbooks. Search them to find relevant chapters or sections on your topic.
ENGnetBASE UCB access only
A collection of engineering handbooks and textbooks from CRC Press, including a category on Nanoscience/Nanotechnology.
To Search all the titles: Type your keywords into the search box in the upper right corner. Click on the document title to see the full text of those sections that interest you. Make a note of the Book Title and Authors so you can reference it correctly.
To Browse individual Book Titles: Click the Category name that interests you (Nanoscience/Nanotechnology, for example). Click the Title of the book. Click the "Read it Online!" link to bring up the Table of Contents. Click on the Table of Contents links to bring up the full text.
Knovel UCB access only
A collection of full-text engineering and scientific handbooks and databases, with built-in software tools.
Type your keywords or phrases into the search box. You can search the full text or use the drop-down menus to limit your search to Author, ISBN, Table of Contents, or Title.
The other drop-down menu will limit your search to only those books in the subject area you select. The hit list comes back in relevancy order (on right of screen). Click on the title to bring up the chapters or sections of the book that have your terms, then click on the Text link to the right of any section to get the full text.
Return to top
Journal articles and conference papers are the primary means of disseminating research in engineering. Use these article databases to find journal articles and conference papers relevant to your research.
INSPEC UCB access only
Coverage: 1898–present
Electrical engineering, computer science, physics, and related fields.
» Guide: HTML, PDF
SciFinder Scholar UCB access only
Coverage: 1907–present
The online index of Chemical Abstracts, including journals, conferences and patents; more than 9,000 journals.
Web of Science UCB access only
Coverage: 1900–present
Article database covering the core journals in all scholarly fields. Provides cited reference searching.
» Tutorial: HTML and Guide: HTML, PDF
Locating Full Text Online or in the Library: Many article databases offer the UC-eLinks service, providing links to full-text articles online and automated library catalog searches. If these links fail, you can search for the journal title or conference name yourself in Current Melvyl.
Return to top
ASM Alloy Phase Diagrams Center UCB access only
Provides access to an extensive collection of binary and ternary phase diagrams and associated data.
CRC Materials Science and Engineering Handbook UCB access only
Handbook of Chemistry and Physics UCB access only
Polymers: a Property Database UCB access only
More resources for physical properties
Return to top
Return to top
Instant Message (IM)
Hours: M-F 10 to 12 and 1 to 5
Screen name: ucbscilibs