OskiCatMelvylCompendexINSPECPubMedWeb of ScienceOff-Campus Access
Ask Us:e-mailIMphone

Guide for MSE 130A: Experimental Materials Science and Engineering Design

Bookmark and Share

Contents:

Off-Campus Access

Off-campus access to licensed library resources such as journal articles and databases requires changes in your browser's settings that allow you to connect through a proxy server.
» Instructions on setting up access

Return to top

Reserve Books

Electrochemical techniques in corrosion science and engineering  UCB access only
Robert G. Kelly … [et al.]. Marcel Dekker, c2003.
TA462.E545 2003

Materials selection in mechanical design
Michael F. Ashby. 3rd ed. Elsevier Butterworth-Heinemann, 2005.
TA403.6.A74 2005

Materials selection in mechanical design  UCB access only
Michael F. Ashby. 4th ed. Butterworth-Heinemann, 2011.
TA403.6.A74 2011

Uhlig's corrosion handbook  UCB access only
Edited by R. Winston Revie. 3rd ed. Wiley, c2011.
Engineering TA462.U4 2011

Return to top

Article Databases

Journal articles and conference papers are the primary means of disseminating research in engineering. As such, they are essential references within quality research. Use article databases to find journal articles and conference papers relevant to your research.

Web of Science  UCB access only
Coverage: 1900–present
Article database covering the core journals in all scholarly fields. Provides cited reference searching.
» Tutorial: HTML and Guide: HTML

INSPEC  UCB access only
Coverage: 1898–present
Electrical engineering, computer science, physics, and related fields.
» Guide: HTML

SciFinder Scholar  UCB access only
Coverage: 1907–present
The online index of Chemical Abstracts, including journals, conferences and patents; more than 9,000 journals.
First time users: you must register at the UC SciFinder Scholar page.
» Web Edition guide: HTML

Google Scholar

To access other article databases, consult our complete list of Article Databases.

Locating Full Text Online or in the Library: Many article databases offer the UC-eLinks service, providing links to full-text articles online and automated library catalog searches. If these links fail, you can search for the journal title or conference name yourself in OskiCat.

Return to top

Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Use encyclopedias and handbooks to find background information and overviews for your research. They also often contain data covering properties and specifications of materials.

AccessScience  UCB access only
Online version of the the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology and the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms.

ASM Handbooks Online  UCB access only
Covers metals as well as engineered materials such as composites, ceramics, and plastics.

Comprehensive Composite Materials  UCB access only

Dekker Encyclopedia of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology  UCB access only

Encyclopedia of Materials  UCB access only

Encyclopedia of Physical Science and Technology  UCB access only

ENGnetBASE  UCB access only
Compilation of over 500 engineering handbooks published by CRC Press. Selected materials science titles include:

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology  UCB access only

Knovel  UCB access only
Collection of full-text engineering and scientific handbooks and databases, with built-in software tools.

Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry  UCB access only

To access other reference tools, consult our complete list of Electronic Books or browse the Engineering Library Reference Collection under the call number areas TA402-TA490, and TN690.

Return to top

Materials Properties Data

ASM Handbooks Online  UCB access only

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics  UCB access only

Combined Chemical Dictionary  UCB access only

CRC Materials Science and Engineering Handbook  UCB access only

Dictionary of Commonly Cited Compounds  UCB access only

Knovel  UCB access only

Landolt-Börnstein  UCB access only
Selected sections:
» Group III Condensed Matter
» Group IV Physical Chemistry
» Group VIII Advanced Materials and Technologies

MatWeb

MEMS Material Database

NIST Ceramics WebBook

Polymers: A Property Database  UCB access only

University of California Material Safety Data Sheets Resources

WebElements Periodic Table

Binary alloy phase diagrams. 2nd ed. 3 volumes.
TN690.B5281 1990 Reference

Handbook of Ternary Alloy Phase Diagrams. 10 Volumes. 1995.
TN690.V493 1995 Reference

Pearson's Handbook: Crystallographic Data for Intermetallic Phases. Desk Edition. 2 Volumes.
TN690.4.V55 1997 Reference

Return to top

Conference Proceedings

Conference proceedings are very important to engineering research, but they can be difficult to find. To find them in the library, search OskiCat using the process outlined in our guide on How to Find Conference Proceedings. If you have problems locating one, please ask a librarian for assistance.

Return to top

Managing Your Citations

You can use citation management tools to help manage your citations. These programs allow you to import citations from online article indexes, organize these citations in a personal database, automatically format them within papers and create instant bibliographies in a variety of styles.

RefWorks is a Web-based bibliographic management service licensed by The Library for use by all current UCB faculty, staff, and students. To sign up for an individual account, use the RefWorks New User form.
» RefWorks Tips for Engineering Databases
» RefWorks Help

For additional help:

Return to top

Instant Message (IM)


Kresge Engineering Library