OskiCatNextGen Melvyl PilotCompendexINSPECPubMedWeb of ScienceOff-Campus Access
Ask Us:e-mailIMTxtphone

Guide for MSE 123: Semiconductor Processing

Contents:

PowerPoint Presentation:

Off-Campus Access

Off-campus access to licensed library resources such as journal articles and databases requires changes in your browser's settings that allow you to connect through a proxy server.
» Instructions on setting up access

Return to top

Article Databases

Use article databases to find journal articles and conference papers relevant to your topic and assignment.

INSPEC  UCB access only
Coverage: 1898–present
Electrical engineering, computer science, physics, and related fields.
» Guide: HTML, PDF

Web of Science  UCB access only
Coverage: 1900–present
Article database covering the core journals in all scholarly fields. Provides cited reference searching.
» Tutorial: HTML and Guide: HTML, PDF

Engineered Materials Abstracts  UCB access only
Coverage: 1986–present
Polymers, ceramics, composites.
» Quick Reference Card: PDF

Metadex  UCB access only
Coverage: 1966–present
Materials science: metals and alloys.
» Quick Reference Card: PDF

Return to top

Reserve Books

Use these texts to learn more about semiconductor processing and devices. The professor normally puts these books on reserve for this class, but you will find them in the stacks at other times. Be sure to check both places.

Compound Semiconductor Technology / D. J. Colliver. Artech House, 1976.
TK7871.99.C65.C64 1976 Reserve

Electronic Materials Science for Integrated Circuits in Si and GaAs / J. W. Mayer, S. S. Lau. Macmillan, 1990.
TK7871.9.M388 1990 Reserve

Fundamentals of Semiconductors : Physics and Materials Properties / Peter Y. Yu, Manuel Cardona. 1st ed., corr. print. Springer, 1996.
QC611.Y88 1996b Reserve
3rd edition available online  UCB access only

Introduction to Microelectronic Fabrication / R. C. Jaeger. 2nd ed. Prentice-Hall, 2002.
TK7874.J33 2002 Reserve

Introduction to Solid State Physics / C. Kittel. 7th ed. Wiley, 1996.
QC176.K531 1996 Reserve in Physics-Astronomy Library

Introduction to Solid State Physics / Charles Kittel. 8th ed. Wiley, c2005.
QC176.K5 2005 Reserve

Nanostructures and Nanomaterials : Synthesis, Properties and Applications / Guozhong Cao. Imperial College Press, c2004.
QC176.8.N35.C36 2004 Reserve

The Physics and Chemistry of Materials / Joel I. Gersten, Frederick W. Smith. Wiley, c2001.
QD478.G47 2001 Reserve

Physics of Semiconductor Devices / S. M. Sze. 2nd ed. Wiley, 1981.
TK7871.85.S988 1981 Reserve

Principles of Growth and Processing of Semiconductors / S. Mahajan, K. S. Sree Harsha. McGraw-Hill, 1999.
TK7871.85.M295 1999 Reserve

The Science and Engineering of Microelectronic Fabrication / S. A. Campbell. 2nd ed. Oxford University Press, 2001.
TK7871.85.C25 2001 Reserve

Semiconductor Silicon Crystal Technology / F. Shimura. Academic Press, 1988.
TK7871.85.S5231 1988 Reserve

VLSI Fabrication Principles: Silicon and Gallium Arsenide / S. K. Ghandhi. 2nd ed. Wiley, 1994.
TK7874.G473 1994 Reserve

VLSI Technology / S. M. Sze (editor). 2nd ed. McGraw-Hill, 1988.
TK7874.V5661 1988 Reserve

Return to top

Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Use encyclopedias and handbooks to find overviews of topics, as well as properties and data for materials. A list of online resources can be found on our Electronic Books page. A good general resource is Knovel (UCB access only).

Concise Encyclopedia of Semiconducting Materials and Related Technologies. Pergamon Press, 1992.
TK7871.85.C595 1992 Reference

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics  UCB access only
83rd ed. CRC Press, 2002.
Earlier editions at QD65.C5, shelved behind the Reference Desk and in the Reference section.

CRC Materials Science and Engineering Handbook  UCB access only
3rd ed. CRC Press, 2001.
TA403.4.C74 2001 Reference

EMIS Datareviews Series  UCB access only
Selected titles:

Other books in the EMIS Datareviews Series can be found by searching Current Melvyl. Use the Advanced search mode to search for "emis datareviews" with Series as your search type. Most are also available online at Knovel. Search for "EMIS Datareviews" in Knovel for a list of the titles.

Encyclopedia of Advanced Materials. Pergamon, 1994.
TA404.8.E53 1994 Reference

Encyclopedia of Materials: Science and Technology  UCB access only
Elsevier, 2001.
TA402.E53 2001 Reference

Handbook of Semiconductor Technology. Wiley-VCH, 2000.
TK7871.85.H3343 2000

Handbook on Semiconductors. North-Holland, 1992-1994.
TK7871.85.H336 1992

Wiley Encyclopedia of Electrical and Electronics Engineering. Wiley, 1999.
TK9.W55 1999 Reference

Other online resources for physical and chemical data are listed on our Physical and Chemical Data page.

Return to top

Research Journals

Browse research journals in your field to identify interesting topics.

Find call numbers and locations for print copies by searching the journal titles in Current Melvyl.

Selected Semiconductor Journals

Selected Related Journals

Return to top

Conference Proceedings

Conference proceedings are very important to engineering research, but they can be difficult to find. To find them in the library, search Current Melvyl using the process outlined in our guide on How to Find Conference Proceedings. If you have problems locating one, please ask a librarian for assistance.

Return to top

Classroom feedback

Your anonymous feedback will be compiled and sent to the instructor.

Return to top

Instant Message (IM)
Hours: M-F 10 to 12 and 1 to 5
Screen name: ucbscilibs


Kresge Engineering Library