INSPEC AutoAlerts
printer-friendly version (PDF)
The AutoAlert feature enables you to create a search to be run automatically in INSPEC as new records are added, with the results sent to your email address. This updating feature is often called "current awareness" or "selective dissemination of information (SDI)." Whenever you perform a search, you can use the Save Search History function to create an AutoAlert.
To create an AutoAlert, you must first have a Personal Account in the Ovid interface. Click on the Personal Account option in the upper right corner of the Main Search page to create your account.
Creating AutoAlerts
To create an AutoAlert, run your search in the INSPEC database then click the Save Search History link below the Search History box on the Main Search page. Login with your personal account. The Save Current Search page displays your Personal Account name near the top.
To save your current search as an AutoAlert:
- Choose AutoAlert (SDI) from the Type menu.
- Assign a Search Name to the search. Add a Comment (optional).
- Decide how often you would like to receive alerts in Scheduling Options. INSPEC is updated weekly.
- Enter your email address as the Recipient's Email Address. Select your Email/RSS Options and Output Type.
- If you want the email to include your search strategy, click on the Include Strategy check box.
- Select the type of display for your search results by clicking on the appropriate Report Type radio button.
- Includes just a titles display link: the email notification contains a link to your search results in a live INSPEC session (where you can use UC-eLinks to locate full text online or in the library).
- Includes records, a Results Display Link, and a link to each record's Complete Reference display: the email notification contains your search results (citations), a link to your search results in a live INSPEC session (where you can use UC-eLinks to locate full text online or in the library) and links to the complete reference display for individual records.
- Includes records only: the email notification contains only your search results (citations).
- Includes records and a titles display link: this email notification contains your search results (citations) and a link to your search results in a live INSPEC session (where you can use UC-eLinks to locate full text online or in the library).
- Select the Fields and the Result Format you want for your results. The result format determines the appearance of the citations. Use the Complete Reference and Reprint/Medlars options if you want to import your records into bibliographic management software such as Endnote or RefWorks.
- Select a Sort Order (optional).
Finally, click the Save button.
Deleting AutoAlerts
To delete an AutoAlert, click on the Saved Searches/Alerts option located above the Personal Account link on the Main Search page. You'll be asked to log into your personal account. Select the search(es) you want to delete, then click the Delete button. You will be asked to confirm this action.