OskiCatMelvylCompendexINSPECPubMedWeb of ScienceOff-Campus Access
Ask Us:e-mailIMphone

EPS 8 Guide to Library Research

Bookmark and Share

Contents:

Off-Campus Access

Off-campus access to licensed library resources such as journal articles and databases requires changes in your browser's settings that allow you to connect through a proxy server.
» Instructions on setting up access

Return to top

Identify engineering literature

This movie gives a brief introduction to the different types of engineering literature, including explanations of technical reports, conference proceedings, patents, and more.
» Getting started in engineering research: engineering literature (movie: approx. 5mm:00ss)

Return to top

Encyclopedias

AccessScience  UCB access only
A classic source of background information in all areas of science and technology, based on the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology.

Return to top

Books and maps

OskiCat
The online catalog for most of the UC Berkeley libraries. It includes call numbers and locations for books, maps, and other materials. Start with a keyword search, then use subject headings for additional searching. Sample searches include:
(keywords) alternative energy
(keywords) wind power or wind energy
(keywords) solar energy or photovoltaic cells
(subject begins with …) renewable energy

When searching for maps, include maps as a keyword. Try searching on topics, regions, states, counties, or cities. You can also click into Advanced Keyword Search and limit your search to Printed Maps or Manuscript Maps. Sample searches include:
(keywords) wind power maps
(keywords) pacific northwest maps
(keywords) california maps
(keywords) contra costa maps
(keywords) livermore maps

Return to top

Journal articles

Academic Search Complete  UCB access only
Multi-disciplinary database that includes journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and more. Full text is available for some journals.
Exact phrase: "wind energy"
All words: refineries AND environment
Any words: water power OR hydropower
Truncation: turbine*
Guides:
» Searching Academic Search Complete (movie: 3mm:24ss)
» Viewing Full Text in Academic Search Complete (movie: 1mm:58ss)

Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management  UCB access only
Covers journal, conferences, and more in all areas of the environmental sciences.
Exact phrase: wind energy
All words: refineries and environment
Any words: water power or hydropower
Truncation: turbine*
Sample search: (alternative or renewable) and energy and environment*

Return to top

Government information

USA.gov
U.S. Government's Official Web Portal. Government information and data from federal, state, and local agencies.

California Climate Change Portal

California Energy Commission

California Environmental Protection Agency (Cal EPA)

Department of Energy (U.S.)

Energy Information Administration
Energy-related data and statistics.

National Climactic Data Center
Climate-related data and statistics.

Return to top

Need help?

If you have questions about your library research, please use the Engineering Library's Ask Us service.

You can also visit the Moffitt Library Information Gateway during its reference service hours.
Mon - Thu  9 a.m.–8 p.m.
Friday        9 a.m.–5 p.m.
Sat - Sun   1 p.m.–5 p.m.


Return to top

Instant Message (IM)


Kresge Engineering Library