OskiCatMelvylCompendexINSPECPubMedWeb of ScienceOff-Campus Access
Ask Us:e-mailIMphone

E 190 Guide to Technical Communication

Bookmark and Share

Contents:

PowerPoint Presentation:

PowerPoint Presentation:
http://docs.google.com/EmbedSlideshow?docid=dcbqssrp_9fds36xc4

Off-Campus Access

Off-campus access to licensed library resources such as journal articles and databases requires changes in your browser's settings that allow you to connect through a proxy server.
» Instructions on setting up access

Return to top

Identify engineering literature

This movie gives a brief introduction to the different types of engineering literature, including explanations of technical reports, conference proceedings, patents, and more.
» Getting started in engineering research: engineering literature (movie: approx. 5mm:00ss)

Return to top

How do I find background information?

You can try these online encyclopedias and handbooks to find background information on topics in engineering.

You can also try the other online encyclopedias and handbooks in our list of Electronic Books, or use the encyclopedias and handbooks shelved in our Reference section, especially:

Return to top

How do I keep up with hot topics in my field?

You can browse the current issues of trade journals and society magazines in your field to find news and features about research, products, and innovations. You can find the current issues for all of these titles in our Display Journals section.

Trade Journals and Society Magazines in Engineering

You can also check these web sites for breaking news on science and technology research and products. Most are freely available and some permit you to sign up for email notices when new items are added to your area of interest.

Return to top

How do I find journal articles and conference papers?

You can search article databases to find research published in journal articles and conference papers. Use keywords, boolean operators, truncation, and limits as appropriate in your search. Choose the article index most appropriate for your topic.

There are three article databases essential to engineering research:

Compendex   UCB access only
Coverage: 1884–present
Indexes over 5,000 journals, conferences, technical reports, and other materials related to the engineering and technical literature.
» Quick Guide (HTML)
» Quick Guide (PDF)

Web of Science   UCB access only
1900–present
Indexes over 5,300 of the leading science journals across 164 scientific disciplines within engineering, physical, and life sciences, and provides searching of cited references. Also includes the Arts and Humanities Citation Index and the Social Sciences Citation Index.
» Quick Guide (HTML)
» Quick Guide (PDF)

INSPEC  UCB access only
Coverage: 1898–present
Electrical engineering, computer science, physics, and related fields.
» Guide: HTML, PDF

There are several other article databases appropriate to engineering research:

SciFinder Scholar  UCB access only
Coverage: 1907–present
The online index of Chemical Abstracts, including journals, conferences and patents; more than 9,000 journals.
First time users: you must register at the UC SciFinder Scholar page.
» Web Edition guide: HTML

Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management  UCB access only
Coverage: 1981–present
All areas of the environment and pollution.
» Quick Reference Card: PDF

PubMed  UCB access only
Coverage: 1947–present
Medicine, life sciences, health administration.
» Guide: HTML, PDF

You can also search the other articles indexes in our list of Article Databases, using the descriptions to choose indexes appropriate to your need.

Return to top

How do I find books, journals, and conferences in the library?

You can search on titles in the library catalog to find books, journals, and conferences. Remember that conferences can be difficult to find, so consult our guide on How to Find Conference Proceedings for assistance.
» Melvyl: catalog for books, journals, and conferences in the UC Library System.

Use the call numbers to locate books, journals, and conferences on our shelves. Remember that call numbers are based on subject matter. Once you find call numbers for books on your topic, you can look at other books shelved nearby to find additional resources.

Return to top

How do I find patents?

You can search patent databases to find patents on particular technologies, methods, and processes. You can also search patent databases for patents issued to specific inventors, companies, or institutions. All U.S. patents back to 1790 are available in full-text TIFF images for free online.

You can also search for foreign patents using the patent databases in our list of Patents links.

Return to top

How do I find quality websites in engineering?

You can use search engines and gateways to find technical information on the web:

Return to top

How do I get help in the library?

Return to top

Instant Message (IM)


Kresge Engineering Library