OskiCatMelvylCompendexINSPECPubMedWeb of ScienceOff-Campus Access
Ask Us:e-mailIMphone

E130AC Cases and Conflicts in Engineering Ethics

Bookmark and Share

Contents:

Off-campus access

Off-campus access to licensed library resources such as journal articles and databases requires changes in your browser's settings that allow you to connect through a proxy server.
» Instructions on setting up access

Return to top

Identify engineering literature

This movie gives a brief introduction to the different types of engineering literature, including explanations of technical reports, conference proceedings, patents, and more.
» Getting started in engineering research: engineering literature (movie: approx. 5mm:00ss)

Return to top

Finding books

Melvyl is the catalog of materials available from the libraries of the ten UC campuses. UC Berkeley faculty, staff, and students may request materials not owned by UC Berkeley through the Request button in Melvyl.

Ebrary   UCB access only
Collection of online full-text books in all disciplines, including Engineering and Technology, Computers and Information Technology, and Biomedical sciences, with built-in software tools. Requires Ebrary plug-in or java client.
» Getting started with Ebrary

National Academies Press
Access to full-text PDFs of books and reports from the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council.

Return to top

Finding background information

Use encyclopedias and handbooks to find overviews of topics, or to find more information on an engineering topic being discussed in class. A list of more topic-specific resources can be found on our Electronic Books page, but you may want to start with some of these general encyclopedias for basic information:

AccessScience   UCB access only
Online version of the the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology and the the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms.

Return to top

Finding journal articles and conference papers

Articles are shorter than books and are more focused on a particular topic. Articles appear in journals, magazines, and newspapers. Scholarly research is most commonly published in journals, some of which assure quality through the peer-review process. The following are some article databases that may be useful for the subjects being studied in this class; use the orange UC-eLinks button in the databases to check if Berkeley has full-text access online.

Web of Science  UCB access only
Includes scholarly journal articles in all areas of the sciences and social sciences.
Guides:
» Quick Guide (HTML)
» Quick Guide (PDF)

Academic Search Complete  UCB access only
Multi-disciplinary database that includes journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and more. Full text is available for some journals.
Guides:
» Searching Academic Search Complete (movie: 3mm:24ss)
» Viewing Full Text in Academic Search Complete (movie: 1mm:58ss)

CSA Illumina: Social Sciences   UCB access only
An interdisciplinary database that searches core indexes in the social sciences including International Bibliography of the Social Sciences, Sociological Abstracts, PsycInfo, PAIS, and more.

Google Scholar
Lists journal articles, books, preprints, and technical reports in many subject areas. To get full-text access to Berkeley subscribed materials, go to "Scholar Preferences" on the main search page and add "University of California, Berkeley" as your Library Link.

Additional options:
» More Engineering Databases
» More Social Sciences Databases

Return to top

Get help in the library

Return to top

Instant Message (IM)


Kresge Engineering Library