MelvylCompendexINSPECPubMedWeb of ScienceOff-Campus Access
Ask Us:e-mailIMphone

How to Find Conference Proceedings

one page handout (PDF)

Contents:

Conference proceedings and papers may be published in various ways: as separate, one-time publications; as serials; or as special issues in journals. Sometimes only the abstract is published; sometimes the paper may be obtained only by contacting the author or society; sometimes the full text is on the web. Occasionally the papers are never published but may be cited by authors who attended the meetings. As a result of these variations, locating conference proceedings can be complicated.

Searching Melvyl for Conference Proceedings

Use the Advanced Search option in Melvyl:

  1. Choose Conference as your search type, then enter keywords from the conference name as your search.
    Examples:
    european circuit theory design
    ieee decision control
    international joint artificial intelligence
    international solid-state sensors actuators
    international offshore polar engineering

  2. Limit the Library to UC Berkeley.

  3. View your search results, looking for the record that matches your conference.

  4. Click into the Details/Locations to locate the UCB call number and location.

Too many results? Try these techniques for narrowing your search:

Exception: A few conference proceedings are published within book series and contain volume numbers as part of their citations. Primary examples include the SPIE Proceedings, MRS Symposia Proceedings, ASTM Special Technical Publications (STP), and Water Science and Technology. Each conference within these series is cataloged under its own name.

If you have the specific conference name, simply follow the steps above. If you have the series name and volume number instead, try the following in the Advanced search:

Choose Series as your search type, then enter the series name and volume number. Do not limit this search to UC Berkeley.

Examples:
spie 1435
water science technology 27

No record for UCB? If you find the specific volume at another campus, copy the conference name from their record and search it as a Journal Title.

Zero results? Please ask a librarian for assistance or send us e-mail.

Return to top

Special Cases — Online Collections

Try searching these online collections directly if you do not find the proceedings in Melvyl.

ACM Digital Library
Full text from 1954 - present.

AIAA Electronic Library
Full text from 1963 - present.

ASCE Online Research Library
Full text from 2005 - present.

IEEE Xplore
Full text from 1988 - present.

MRS Symposia Proceedings
Full text from 2000 - present.

SPIE Digital Library
Full text from 1998 - present.

USENIX Conference Proceedings
Full text from 1993 - present (current year restricted).


Return to top

Finding Individual Papers from Specific Conference Proceedings

You can find individual conference papers from specific conferences by searching appropriate databases. Access them from our list of Article Databases.

Compendex:
Covers 1884 - present. Search the conference information field for the conference name, date, and/or location. Limit the publication type to conference article.

INSPEC:
Covers 1969 - present. Search the conference (cf) field for the conference name, date, and/or location. Limit the publication type to conference paper.

PapersFirst:
Covers 1993 - present. Switch to Advanced Search. Choose appropriate fields from the pull-down menus, then search for the conference name, date, and/or location.

These databases often provide links to full-text articles online and automated library catalog searches through the UC-eLinks service. Because of their complexity, these links often fail for conference proceedings. Be prepared to search Melvyl yourself to identify the UCB call numbers and locations.

Return to top

Need Help?

Stop by the Engineering Library Reference Desk to ask a librarian for help. Or send us your question online through our Ask Us form.

Return to top