Guide for CE 24: Skyscrapers and the World Trade Center
Contents:
How to Find Books
Use Melvyl to find books on your topic. The records will tell you the call number and the location (library) for each book. Try some of the examples below.
- Open Melvyl catalog.
- Choose Subject as the type of Search.
- Type world trade center new york in the search box.
- Choose UC Berkeley as the Library.
- Click Search.
- Click Details/Locations, and scroll down to find the call number and library where the book is located. Many books on this topic are in the Environmental Design Library.
Other searches to try:
| Type |
Sample Terms |
| Title |
skyscrapers |
| Title |
tall buildings |
| Subject |
skyscrapers design and construction |
| Subject |
skyscrapers designs and plans |
| Subject |
skyscrapers social aspects |
| Subject |
skyscrapers 19th century |
| Subject |
Minoru Yamasaki |
How to Find Articles
Use an article index to identify articles on your topic. Many are listed and linked below, but there are dozens more that could be useful, depending on the topic you are working on. Follow the UC e-Links button from the indexes to locate the full text of the articles you need, either online or get the call numbers for the printed version in the Library. In most article databases, you can check off references of interest and e-mail them to yourself so you have a record of them.
Applied Science & Technology Abstracts: for general and some scholarly articles
- In the search box:
- Type world-trade-center-terrorist-attack-2001 for articles relating to the events of September 11, 2001.
- Type world-trade-center-bombing-1993 for articles relating to the 1993 bombing.
- Type world trade center for all articles on the topic.
Note: it's important to use the hyphens in the first two searches, and not in the last.
- Click Search.
Compendex: for technical and scholarly engineering articles
- Type world trade center in the search box, and select Title from the All Fields drop-down menu.
- Click Perform Search.
PubMed: for health and medical articles
- Type world trade center in the search box.
- Click Go.
- On the results screen, change the Display from Summary to Abstracts (drop-down menu) to get the UC-eLinks button for full text.
Web of Science
- Uncheck Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts and Humanities Citation Index to search just the Science Citation Index, or leave them all checked to search for articles in all disciplines.
- Click on General Search.
- Type world trade center in the Topic search box.
- Click Search.
- Click on the linked title in each record to see an abstract. If an article looks particularly good for your topic, click Related Records to find other articles that have references in common.
For articles in general interest magazines and newspapers, search the following article databases:
Academic Search Complete
- Type "leslie robertson" in the box.
- Click Search.
Readers Guide Retrospective 1890-1982: for historical articles
- Type world trade center in the box.
- Other searches: buildings.
- Click Search now.
Lexis-Nexis
- Select General News.
- Select Magazines & Journals.
- Type "leslie robertson" in the box (or try "leslie e robertson").
- Change date to All available years.
- Click Search.
Do the same search in Major Papers (Step 2) for newspaper articles.
Architecture Topics
For more help with architectural topics, ask the Librarians at the Environmental Design Library, 210 Wurster Hall.
Historical topics
Articles indexes that cover historical engineering topics include:
The following print indexes may also be useful:
- Applied science & technology index
Call No. T1.I3 Library has: BOUND 1958-1991, 1993
Look under: New York City -- World Trade Center
- Industrial arts index
Call No. T1.I3 Library has: Bound 1913-1916, 1918-1957//
Look under: Buildings or Buildings -- Construction or Office Buildings
How to Get Help at the Library
- In person: Stop at the Engineering Library Reference Desk from 11 a.m.–12 p.m. and 1–5 p.m., Monday through Friday.
- Instant Message Screen Name: askengi (AIM, Yahoo!, Google Talk, MSN)
1 to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday
- E-mail: Use our Ask Us form to send us questions online.
- Phone: (510) 642-3339